Foxcroft School in Middleburg held its commencement May 27 for 55 graduating students from 15 states, the District and five countries. The following awards were presented:

Pillsbury Award, the school's highest academic honor: Alden W. Denegre of Middleburg, class valedictorian, and Kathryn A. Grant of Lovettsville, class salutatorian.

Mildred Greble Davis Award, named for a teacher and given to the girl in the junior class who has best lived up to Davis's standard, "loyal to the royal in thyself": Adela E. Griswold of Middleburg.

Dudley Prize, awarded to a girl in the senior class for her efforts for the good of the school: Jessica A. Walker of Purcellville. Walker was student head of school.

Becky Award, given to the sophomore who best exemplifies the qualities of bravery, enthusiasm, courtesy and knowledge: Joanna M. French of Middleburg.

Students commended by the National Merit Scholarship Program: Emily G. Compton of Purcellville, Denegre and Grant.

Outstanding participant in the National Achievement Scholarship Program: Walker.

Cum Laude Society inductees: Compton, Denegre, Grant, Catherine T. Herbert of Middleburg, Walker and Elicia Williams of Middleburg.

The following are Ashburn residents who were named to the dean's list at Virginia Tech for the spring semester. To qualify, students must attempt at least 12 credit hours graded on the A-F option and earn a 3.4 grade-point average on a four-point scale.

Michelle N. Meyer, a senior majoring in architecture; Robert L. Mott, senior, mechanical engineering; Jenny J. Qiu, senior, biology; David J. Rariden, senior, architecture; Christine M. Ryan, senior, communications; Bryan M. Schamus, freshman, communications; Nida Sohail, senior, marketing management; Geoffrey E. Tetteyfio, senior, marketing management; Eric M. Thiel, senior, interdisciplinary studies; Heather A. Tydings, sophomore, biology; Colleen E. Webster, freshman, communications; John T. Wilkinson, junior, computer science; Joshua N. Burnheimer, freshman, university studies; Megan C. Green, sophomore, electrical engineering; Kristin E. Lamir, senior, human development; and Christina Y. Vu, sophomore, management.

-- Compiled by LESLIE SHEPHERD