Ninety-five junior and senior high school students in Virginia were selected to participate in the Governor's School for Agriculture at Virginia Tech. The month-long residential program for gifted students interested in agriculture and natural resources, which ends July 30, provides hands-on, cutting-edge instruction.

Local students accepted are: Suzanne Giunta of Warrenton, a student at Liberty High; Eric Hilgartner of Round Hill, a student at Loudoun Valley High; Lauren Kope of Leesburg, a student at Loudoun County High; Gregory Mitchell of Ashburn, a student at Broad Run High; and Lisa Mulloy of Sterling, a student at Park View High.

The following residents of Sterling were named to the dean's list at Virginia Tech for the spring semester. To qualify, students must attempt at least 12 credit hours graded on the A-F option and earn a 3.4 grade-point average on a four-point scale.

Jennifer M. Balla, a senior majoring in human nutrition, foods and exercise; Shannon K. Begle, sophomore, psychology; Robert C. Bernhards, sophomore, biology; Douglas B. Brenner, freshman, general engineering; Kiernan K. Calef, senior, human nutrition, foods and exercise; Robert B. Carter, senior, physics; Lambrini K. Drosos, senior, business information technology; Elizabeth L. Dye, freshman, sociology; Elizabeth L. Entsminger, senior, international studies; Nathan B. Entsminger, sophomore, history; Jenney R. Hammett, senior, political science; Jonathan W. Hartsuiker, freshman, general engineering; David A. Hogarty, senior, computer engineering; Rebecca C. Horning, freshman, biology; Joseph C. Hussa, senior, mechanical engineering; Allison M. Jarnagin, sophomore, art (fine arts); Peter T. Lazarevich, junior, civil engineering; Jason W. Pilchuk, junior, aerospace engineering; Dustin O. Schleifer, freshman, civil engineering; Alexander W. Scott, sophomore, materials science and engineering; Vladimir S. Smirnov, sophomore, computer engineering; Zachary H. Snee, junior, communications; Jennifer E. Stroup, senior, psychology; William R. Toland, junior, secondary education (physical education); Shane J. Tucker, senior, mechanical engineering; Zachary C. Williams, freshman, business; Christian W. Zoeller, freshman, university studies.

-- Compiled by LESLIE SHEPHERD