Leesburg's library manager Alexandra S. Gressitt was elected second vice president of the board of directors of the Historical Society of the Episcopal Church at its annual meeting in Austin on June 24. Gressitt was also appointed chairman of the society's archives committee.

The Prevention & Community Outreach Services After-School Program, operated by the Loudoun County Department of Mental Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services, has won a National Association of Counties Achievement Award for innovative programming.

The program, held at the Evans Ridge and Fields of Leesburg apartment complexes, provides elementary, middle and high school students with year-round programming focusing on substance-abuse prevention, violence and gang prevention, tutoring and case management.

The Tony and Nik Foundation awarded $1,500 grants to the following Loudoun County 2005 high school graduates: Corey Ennist (Broad Run High School), Kim Winters (Dominion), Joel Piper (Heritage), Rachael Budansky (Loudoun County), Vanessa Smiley (Loudoun Valley), Lisamarie Morreale (Park View), Richard Pepio (Potomac Falls) and Stephanie Copperman, Mike Benonis, Katie Cook and Tim Voelker (Stone Bridge). $3,000 director's awards were given to Stone Bridge students Sam Devlin and Angie Black.

The Tony and Nik Foundation was started in 2004 in honor of Nicholas "Nik" J. Pendola, 16, and Anthony "Tony" Cibelli-Mason, 17, best friends who died after being thrown from the open bed of a pickup when it crashed into a ditch on Ridgeway Drive in the Broadlands community.

Marantha Edwards, Leesburg's tourism and marketing manager, was named to the board of directors for the Virginia Downtown Development Association for a three-year term that began in June.

The following students were inducted into the Virginia Tech chapter of the Gamma Beta Phi Honor and Service Society: Paul W. Boyd of Leesburg, a senior majoring in industrial and systems engineering in the College of Engineering; Kristin A. Van Dusseldorp of Leesburg, a sophomore majoring in accounting and information systems in the Pamplin College of Business; and Jennifer A. French of Broad Run, a sophomore majoring in environmental policy and planning in the College of Architecture and Urban Studies.

Marshall Middle School students Elle Matthews and Katherine Young are among 10 music students in the nation who won the School Band and Orchestra magazine's annual scholarship essay contest.

The girls will each receive a $1,000 scholarship for further music education, and their school will receive a matching award in the form of musical merchandise.

This year's essay theme was "What the National Anthem Means to Me."

Matthews, 12, a rising eighth-grader who plays viola in the school orchestra, wrote that the lyrics of the national anthem "describe a flag flying over a fierce battle which symbolizes our country's courage and determination to preserve democracy and freedom, whatever the cost." She concluded that the anthem "describes this nation as the center of democracy and the world's best hope for freedom and equality."

Young, 12, a rising seventh-grader who plays violin, wrote that the anthem has a personal meaning for her: "I am proud of the country and the brave soldiers that fight for our country. One of those soldiers is my Dad. He is in the National Guard and is now in Afghanistan helping people to enjoy their freedom. I think of 'The National Anthem' as my Dad's song. . . . Whenever I hear it right now it makes me a little sad because I miss my Dad, but I know the job he is doing is very important."

Tina Gulland of Aldie and Emily Tyler of Middleburg have been elected to the board of directors of Oatlands Plantation.

Gulland is director of television projects for The Washington Post and executive producer for "Inside Washington."

Tyler is the development assistant and special events coordinator for the Hill School in Middleburg.

Nine Loudoun County sheriff's recruits graduated June 24 from the 112th session of the Northern Virginia Criminal Justice Academy's combined basic deputy sheriff and law enforcement school.

The Loudoun recruits took six of the top 10 spots for the school. Deputy Warren Andrew Jenkins was class president, and Deputy Jason Leydig was one of three vice presidents.

The other recruits, who are now state-certified in basic law enforcement, are Kenneth L. Bingaman, Charles A. Forsch, Kirk C. Graham, Joshua E. Mowery, Christopher L. Powell, Charles T. Smith and Melissa E. Tennant.

Also graduating in the same class were four new Leesburg police officers: Megan Byrnes, Carrie Cline, Dan Troxell and J.C. Blaylock.

Sarah Kathryn Black of Sterling was named to the dean's list at McDaniel College in Westminster, Md., for the spring semester.

Dane Cozens, a student at Stone Bridge High School, was selected to attend this summer's governor's school for visual and performing arts at the University of Richmond.

Helen Dodderidge of Bluemont, a senior majoring in psychology and advertising, was named to the dean's list at Syracuse University after obtaining a grade-point average of at least 3.4 out of 4.0 in the spring semester.

Rosemary Chepega of Purcellville, a nursing major, was named to the dean's list at York College of Pennsylvania after earning a grade-point average of at least 3.5 in the spring semester.

-- Compiled by LESLIE SHEPHERD

Four new Leesburg officers graduated from the law enforcement school: front row, from left, Dan Troxell, J.C. Blaylock, Megan Byrnes and Carrie Cline. In the back row, posing with the graduating officers, are, from left: Leesburg Sgt. Steve McVay, Capt. Jeff VanGilder and Police Chief Joseph R. Price.Nine Loudoun County sheriff's recruits graduated from the Northern Virginia Criminal Justice Academy's law enforcement school: front row, from left, Loudoun Commonwealth's Attorney James Plowman, graduates Kenneth L. Bingaman, Warren A. Jenkins, Melissa E. Tennant and Charles A. Forsch, and Lt. Col. Ronald Gibson; second row, from left, graduates Jason A. Leydig, Kirk C. Graham, Joshua E. Mowery, Christopher L. Powell and Charles T. Smith.