Nine students in the Anne Arundel County area recently received National Merit Scholarship awards. The scholarships range in value from $500 to $5,000 and were granted on the basis of the students' Preliminary SAT and National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test scores. The following seniors received awards: Laura A. Hoover of Davidsonville, Ripujeet S. Sidhu of Chestertown, Erika R. Nesvold of Severn, Zachary B. Schwartz of Annapolis, Marissa D. Nielsen of Laurel, Craig S. Carroll of Linthicum, Justin K. Johnston of Hanover, Rachel E. Wells of Millersville and John D. McNair of Pasadena.

The Anne Arundel Community College student chapter of the International Association of Administrative Professionals recently named four officers for the 2005-06 school year. Rebecca Baker of Crownsville was named president; Deborah Jackson of Glen Burnie, vice president; Jessica Ward of Crofton, treasurer; and Marian Rankine of Crownsville, secretary. The college's chapter of the International Association of Administrative Professionals gives students the chance to network with business professionals and is open to any student enrolled in at least one business class.

-- Compiled by Eileen Rivers

To Submit an Item


Fax: 410-267-6972

Mail: Eileen Rivers, Anne Arundel Extra, The Washington Post, 3 Church Circle, Annapolis, Md. 21401-1902

Details: Deadline is 14 days before publication.