Sasha Ryjik, 11, of Alexandria won a gold medal in the 12-and-under saber event at the U.S. Fencing Association Summer National Championships, held July 1-10 in Sacramento.

The STAR Scholarship Foundation honored Arlington public high school scholarship recipients June 12. Thirteen students received $1,000 scholarships. The recipients were Christopher Kendall, H-B Woodlawn Secondary Program; Courtney C. Jenkins, Wakefield High School; Tiffany M. Clark and Ingrid Pierre, Washington-Lee High School; and Tweduda T. Abdella, Semhar Y. Abebe, Stephanie L. Bellevue, Nicholas Birasa, Aleshadye Getachew, Devon N. Hogan, Genet Lakew, Catherine McDaniel and Folashade Modupe, Yorktown High School. The following students won $250 STAR scholarships: Tigist K. Belema and Ashleigh Brown, H-B Woodlawn Secondary Program; Biruh Taye and Refel Taye, Wakefield High School; and Kaitlin L. Essig, Ribka Gugasa, Kailyn E. Jackson and Keshonda S. Pyos, Washington-Lee High School. In addition, Joseph E. Kennedy of H-B Woodlawn Secondary Program, Bethlehem Abebe and Kalkidan B. Shebi of Washington-Lee High School, and Donell Washington of Yorktown High School were recognized with certificates of merit.

Alexandria Human Rights Commission Student Human Rights Awards were given to T.C. Williams students Jodie Rubenstein, Lindsay McCrea, Rebecca Glasberg, Paige Cantfil and Sana Waheed and to Jasmine Homayoon Lister of St. Stephen's and St. Agnes School. Each student received a commemorative plaque and a $300 award.

Wakefield High School senior Hasina Rahman received the Millennium Scholars' Award from the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation.

Danny Foster of Arlington, a senior at Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology, was chosen to attend the American Legion Boys Nation as a delegate from Virginia.

Harun Mehmedinovic of Alexandria was awarded the Jack Kent Cooke Foundation Graduate Scholarship.

The Arlington County Board awarded Mary Marshall Scholarships to Arlington high school graduates pursuing careers in public service. Each student was given a scholarship worth $1,500 to $2,000 to attend Northern Virginia Community College. The recipients are: Elis Acero, Jony Barua, Hilda Jimenez, Ubaldo Sanchez and Karina Serrano, Arlington Mill High School; Ngoc Minh Le, H-B Woodlawn Secondary Program; Ana Barillas and Telma Granados, Wakefield High School; Rudy Sejas-Gamboa, Wakefield High School and Career Center; Tiffany Morris, Washington-Lee High School; and Hiwot Woldesemayat, Yorktown High School.

John Adams Elementary School music teacher Wes McCune was selected by the National Endowment for the Humanities to receive a grant to study Mozart in Vienna, Austria, this summer.

The American Society of Public Administration, Northern Virginia chapter, presented the Kathy Hensley Award for Distinguished Chapter Service to Karen L. Bune of Arlington.

The Del Ray Citizens Association presented its Eddie Award to Giselle Gilpin, a third-grade teacher at Cora Kelly School, and Jennifer Beza, a special education specialist at Jefferson-Houston School, on June 13.

The Arlington County Scholarship Fund for Teachers Inc. awarded scholarships to several teachers June 14. The recipients were: Sarah Barnett, Arlington Retired Teachers Association Scholarship; Swadu Beckley, Arlington County Council of PTAs Scholarship; Genevieve Clarkson, Taylor Elementary School and Yorktown High School Scholarships; Sarah Haseltine, Science Focus Elementary School, Washington-Lee High School, Arlington Education Association Scholarship; Kevin Kuhm, Arlington Retired Teachers Association Scholarship; Ashley Landers, Arlington Retired Teachers Association Scholarship; Emily Poly, Arlington County Council of PTAs Scholarship; Melissa Rios, Arlington Retired Teachers Association Scholarship; and Rebecca Shinners, Arlington County Council of PTAs Scholarship.

Arlington Community Foundation education fund grants were awarded to AHC Inc., Classika-Synetic Theatre, Gunston Middle School and Washington-Lee High School. The Rabil-Armstrong Instructional Staff Development Fund Grantee, the foundation's second education fund, was awarded to Gunston Middle School.

The Arlington School Board honored volunteers for outstanding service to Arlington students June 16. The honorees were Dorothy Bickley, Lynn Dorfman, Rick Engelman, Marian Klymkowsky, Rosie O'Neil, Ralph Perrino, Jim Pomeroy, Abby Raphael, Nathaniel Rosemberg, Linda Rosenfield, Peter Ross, William Ross and Chuck Schultz.

The Virginia Family and Children's Trust Fund Volunteer Award was presented to Court Appointed Special Advocate volunteer Linda Johnson of Alexandria.

-- Compiled by RIA MANGLAPUS

To Submit an Item


Fax: 703-518-3001

Mail: Lila de Tantillo, The Washington Post, 526 King St., Suite 515, Alexandria, Va. 22314.

Details: Photos are encouraged, preferably sent as digital files. They must include the photographer's name.