Stephen J. Mayo of Leesburg received the mastership award from the Academy of General Dentistry at its annual meeting in Washington in July. The award is the academy's highest honor. Mayo completed 1,100 hours of continuing dental education in 16 disciplines, including 400 hours dedicated to hands-on skills and techniques.

The Loudoun County government has received an award of excellence from the City-County Communications and Marketing Association (3CMA) for its 2004 Annual Report.

The report ranked among the top three nationally in the category of publications and annual reports for cities and counties with a population of 171,000 or greater.

Winners of the "Design a Superhero" poster contest for the Loudoun County library's 2005 Summer Reading Program are:

Ashburn Library: Veronica Gomes (3- to 5-year-olds), Natalie Glees (6- to 10-year-olds) and Vincent Gomes (11 and older).

Eastern Loudoun Regional Library: Regan Duhadway (3 to 5), Katherine Olson (6 to 10) and Neha Jadhav (11 and older).

Lovettsville Library: Passacaglia Mason (3 to 5), Timothy Murphy (6 to 10) and Abigail McIntyre (11 and older).

Middleburg Library: Jack Tate (3 to 5), Kyla McAuliffe (6 to 10) and Emma All (11 and older).

Purcellville Library: Easton Kittinger (3 to 5), Cara Broshkevitch (6 to 10) and Keira Crawford (11 and older).

Rust Library: Alex Noufal (3 to 5), Miranda K. Case (6 to 10) and Gabrielle Muskett (11 and older).

Sterling Library: Julian Anaya (3 to 5), Pablo E. Rivera (6 to 10) and Bilal Ayub (11 and older).

Winning designs will be made into framed posters and displayed at branches through Sept. 30.

-- Compiled by LESLIE SHEPHERD