Stream Day Winners

Twenty-eight elementary school students are winners in the 2005 Family Stream Day poster, essay and poetry contest sponsored by the Loudoun Soil and Water Conservation District and the Loudoun County Sanitation Authority.

The students were to be recognized yesterday in a Family Stream Day ceremony at Broadlands Community Center in Ashburn.

Winners from Loudoun Country Day School are Maggie Hughes, Thomas Gingell, Eleni Papadopoulas, Pierce Dennis, Katie Wright, Ian Dillingham, Mohammed Raza, Drew Styles, Perri Solhjou, Ashlyn DiLoreto, Elizabeth Woods, Hayley Greene, Nathaniel Williams, Chris Aust, Cameron Kelahan, Amanda Bluhm, Hannah McLean, Mark Wright and Lisa Bubriak. Their teachers are Cindy Venne and Larry Dombrowski.

Winners from Waterford Elementary School are Guthrie Shriver, Eddie Medrano, Halle Lynch, Kristen Haislip, Cole Downing, Catherine Wyatt and Josh Longosky.

Winners from Newton-Lee Elementary School are Nicole Frunza and Nicole Lantuh.

Wyatt, Lantuh and Longosky won in the essay-poetry portion of the contest. Each won a $25 gift certificate and a T-shirt. The others were honored for their posters; each won a $5 gift certificate and a T-shirt.

National Scholars Named

Kathryn Grant and Elicia Williams, who graduated in May from Foxcroft School in Middleburg, are the school's first National Scholars, a designation granted to high school students who excel in the College Board's Advanced Placement program.

National Scholars must receive an average grade of at least 4 -- on the five-point AP scale -- for all AP exams they have taken and grades of 4 or higher on eight or more of the tests.

Grant, of Lovettsville, is a freshman at Bowdoin College, and Williams, of Middleburg, is a freshman at the University of Virginia.

Fifteen Foxcroft students earned AP Scholar designation for an average of at least 3.5 on all AP exams and grades of 3 or higher on at least five tests. Along with Williams and Grant, those honored are Clara Bertozzi-Villa, Jillian Cairns, Emily Compton, Alden Denegre, Liza Eldredge, Tommie Herbert, Jenna Hill, Carly Leins, Caroline Markoski, Sophie Massie, Amber Ogbolu, Randall Teeley and Vanessa Vallecillo. Cairns, Bertozzi-Villa and Ogbolu are still students at Foxcroft.

-- Compiled by


To Submit an Item


Fax: 703-777-8437

Mail: Loudoun Extra, The Washington Post, 305 Harrison St. SE, Suite 100-A, Leesburg, Va. 22075