Educator's Service Praised

Montgomery County educator and lifelong Gaithersburg resident James Wriley Jacobs Sr., 83, has been awarded the 2005 Distinguished Citizen of the Year Award by the City of Gaithersburg for his "commitment to public service and his strength of character." While working for the county school system, Jacobs served on the boards of the American Red Cross, Montgomery General Hospital and Save the Children. He also volunteered many hours for the Rotary Club, Lions Clubs, Boy Scouts, the Gaithersburg Ethics Commission and Epworth United Methodist Church.

Jacobs, a World War II veteran, began teaching in 1948, when the school system had only 17,000 students. When he retired in 1975, he was associate superintendent of schools and had watched the population swell to nearly 100,000, he said.

For Jacobs, who has lived in the same house since 1948, a life of community service is a no-brainer.

"It was part of your payback for some of these advantages to living in the community," he said.

After leaving the school system, Jacobs joined a family business selling construction and landscaping equipment. He and his wife, Elizabeth Jeanne, are retired. He has three children, eight grandchildren and three great-grandchildren.

The city named the Gaithersburg Lions Club and Gaithersburg-Forest Oaks Lions Club Outstanding Organizations of the Year for vision-care services they provide to those in need. Teresa Wright, a parent-resource teacher with the Montgomery County public schools, was named a Distinguished Friend for serving on the city's multicultural affairs committee and helping to advocate for the Community Development Block Grant Parent Scholarship Fund and the Ed Bohrer Parent Resource Center.

Women in Business Gala

The organization Women Business Owners of Montgomery County will celebrate its 25th anniversary with a Women in Business Celebrate Success Gala, a luncheon from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. Oct. 21 at the Hilton in Gaithersburg. The event will honor the achievements of 25 area women. They are:

Cathy Bernard, president, CSB Management Corp.; Marielsa Bernard, associate judge, Montgomery County Circuit Court; Frankie Blackburn, executive director of Impact Silver Spring; Carmen Camacho, vicepresident and owner, Bud Miller Associates Inc.; Patricia Cornish, commissioner, Montgomery County Commission for Women; Dorothy Fitzgerald, president, Fitzgerald Auto Malls; Bonnie Fogel, founder and executive director of Imagination Stage; Claire Fraser, president and director of the Institute for Genomic Research, Helen Frederick, executive artistic director of the Pyramid Atlantic Art Center; Esther Gelman, retired member of the Montgomery County Council; Ana Sol Gutierrez, director of strategic information technology consulting at Computer Sciences Corp.; Ruth Hanessian, president of Animal Exchange; Cathy Hughes, president, Radio One; Rose Krasnow, chief of development review, Montgomery County Department of Park and Planning; Barbara Krumsiek, president and chief executive, Calvert Group Ltd.; Corinna Lathan, president and chief executive, AnthroTronix Inc.; Liz Lerman, president and founder, Dance Exchange; Charlene Nunley, president, Montgomery College; Julie Bender Silver, president, Bender Foundation; Wendy Thompson, general manager, Telemundo; Carol Trawick, chief executive of Trawick & Associates; Mary Ann Viverette, Gaithersburg chief of police; Kim Watson, vice president of Maryland affairs, Pepco; Jeannette Lee White, president, Sytel Inc.; and Deborah Yancer, president, Shady Grove Adventist Hospital.

One of the 25 women will receive the Athena Award, which is given to a person or organization that opens doors for women. The gala will also feature a business expo. The hotel is at 620 Perry Pkwy., Gaithersburg. Tickets are $60 until Saturday; $75 at the door. Advance registration continues through Wednesday. For more information, call 301-948-3900.

Scientists Receive Medals

Orlando Figueroa of Silver Spring and Subhashree Madhavan of Rockville were awarded 2005 Service to America Medals last month to recognize their achievements as public servants. The award, created in 2002, is sponsored by the Partnership for Public Service and Atlantic Media Co., which publishes the Atlantic Monthly magazine.

Figueroa, a NASA scientist, was honored for leading the Mars Exploration Rover project, which found evidence that liquid water once existed on that planet.

Madhavan, a researcher at the National Cancer Institute's Center for Bioinformatics at the National Institutes of Health, was recognized for developing a national database that allows brain tumor patients to share samples of their tumors with doctors around the country, who then may be able to use the samples to develop treatments.

Figueroa received the 2005 Federal Employee of the Year medal along with $10,000. Madhavan won the 2005 Science and Environment Medal and $3,000. There are nine Service to America medals.

Students Win in Israel

Bethesda residents Max Meltzer and Amy Zitelman earned gold medals in July at the 17th Maccabiah Games in Netanya, Israel.

Meltzer, 21, won a gold medal for freestyle wrestling and a silver medal for Greco-Roman wrestling. Zitelman, 16, won a gold medal as part of the U.S. Women's Maccabiah basketball team.

Meltzer is a senior at Harvard University and is captain of the university's wrestling team. Zitelman is a junior at Charles E. Smith Jewish Day School in Rockville and plays on its varsity basketball team.

Probation Officer Honored

Emmanuel Goutier, an officer with Maryland's Division of Parole and Probation, was commended recently for preventing a man's suicide.

Goutier, who lives in Silver Spring, blocked a distraught man from repeated attempts to walk into busy traffic on New Hampshire Avenue in late July. He later was able to persuade the man to stop trying to hurt himself.

Goutier was honored by the Maryland Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services.

-- Compiled by ARUNA JAIN

James Wriley Jacobs Sr., left, with Gaithersburg City Council members, from left, Stanley J. Alster, Henry F. Maraffa Jr. and John B. Schlichting.