Annapolis's lame duck City Council postponed votes on several legislative items at Monday's regular meeting until a special meeting on Nov. 28. That sets up a loaded final session for the final meeting of the current council.

The council hopes to dispose of a few volatile issues, including a vote on the Market House lease, before the December transition to a new council. The Market House vote was put off Monday so the council's economic matters committee could review the proposed lease with Silver Spring-based Site Realty Group.

The council also amended a proposal that would put a moratorium on annexations until policies to govern them are adopted. Over the objections of the proposal's sponsors -- outgoing aldermen Louise Hammond (D-Ward 1), Sheila Tolliver (D-Ward 2) and George O. Kelley Sr. (R-Ward 4) -- the council altered the language to place a freeze on development of annexed land rather than on annexation itself. The revised legislation would allow development of newly annexed land only if there are adequate police, fire and other public services to support it.

A public hearing followed by a vote on the amended version is expected at the Nov. 28 meeting.

New Council on Dec. 5

Fresh off their Nov. 8 election victories, five new aldermen and four incumbents, including the mayor, will be sworn in at a special ceremony Dec. 5 at the Maryland Hall for Creative Arts. The reconstituted council's first meeting will be Dec. 12.

The ceremony begins at 4 p.m. and will be followed by a reception downstairs. Both are open to the public.

Mayor Ellen O. Moyer (D) will be sworn in by Circuit Court Clerk Robert Duckworth. Moyer, the city's first woman mayor, secured a second term with a win over Kelley and independent Gilbert Renaut in last week's election.

After she takes her oath, Moyer will swear in the remaining council members: newcomers Richard E. Israel (D-Ward 1), Michael Christman (R-Ward 2), Wayne Taylor (D-Ward 4), Julie Stankivic (I-Ward 6) and Sam Shropshire (D-Ward 7); and incumbents Classie G. Hoyle (D-Ward 3), David H. Cordle Sr. (R-Ward 5) and Joshua J. Cohen (D-Ward 8).