* Three Charles County students were honored recently by the Board of Education for their accomplishments.

Christopher B. McLeod, a senior at Westlake High School, was recognized for academic achievement. He is one of 1,600 national semifinalists in the 2006 National Achievement Scholarship Program for black students.

Jade Dyson, an eighth-grade student at General Smallwood Middle School, was recognized for personal responsibility. In giving the award, Principal Roney Wynn mentioned her work habits and noted she had been selected by teachers and staff members as the 2004-05 Smallwood Student of the Year.

Suzanne Elise Cahn, a fifth-grade student at T.C. Martin Elementary School, was honored. She has participated on the school math team, enrolled in enrichment classes and has volunteered with the school safety patrol.

* The Charles County Department of Fiscal Services budget division has received the Distinguished Budget Presentation Award for fiscal 2006 from the Government Finance Officers Association of the United States and Canada. This is the 10th consecutive year the budget division has received the award. Budget Director David Eicholtz and Senior Budget Analyst Jenifer Ellin each will receive the Certificate of Recognition for Budget Presentation for their role in creating the budget document.

The Government Finance Officers Association is a nonprofit professional association serving 14,000 government finance professionals throughout North America.

* Four St. Mary's County high school seniors were recently recognized for their academic performance by the Zeta Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa at St. Mary's College of Maryland. Those honored during the eighth annual Phi Beta Kappa Book Awards ceremony were Gregory VanMeter from Chopticon High School, Rachel Alonso from Great Mills High School, Brenda McEvoy from St. Mary's Ryken School and Stephanie Galani from Leonardtown High School.

The students were selected by their high school National Honor Society advisers and the college honor society. Phi Beta Kappa, founded in 1776 by the College of William and Mary, is the nation's oldest honor society for the liberal arts and sciences. The St. Mary's chapter was installed in 1998.

* Four Charles County students were selected to participate in the Maryland General Assembly Legislative Page Program. The student pages are Ashley Carmen Barnas of Henry E. Lackey High School, William L. Joyner III of Thomas Stone High School and Jennifer Malherek of Maurice J. McDonough High School. Samantha Borzi of La Plata High School was selected as an alternate. The student pages each work for two weeks during the 2006 General Assembly session.

* Janet Sullivan, a longtime volunteer at St. Mary's Hospital, was recently inducted into the Maryland Senior Citizens Hall of Fame. A resident of Mechanicsville, she has logged more than 2,700 hours of volunteer work in the Ambulatory Surgery Center since 1995.

* The La Plata American Legion Post 82 Women's Auxiliary recently presented a $2,000 donation to Children's Aid Society. The donation will support the organization's food pantry and annual Christmas Connection Program toy drive, which benefits roughly 3,000 children in Charles County each year.