HERE ARE our recommendations for some Maryland General Assembly contests:

DISTRICT 14: For state Senate, Democrat Rona E. Kramer's strong credentials and support for transportation make her an outstanding candidate. For the three delegate seats, Herman Taylor (D) has extensive business experience and works with health care and youth groups. Patricia Anne Faulkner and Jim Goldberg are Republicans with thoughtful positions on transportation and education, and with independence that would be valuable in Annapolis.

DISTRICT 15: For state Senate, Democrat Rob Garagiola has made a vigorous pitch for fresh representation, but incumbent Republican Jean W. Roesser has been an independent, effective voice for the district for 16 years. The contest for three House seats is blessed with six good candidates. Incumbent Jean B. Cryor (R) is one of the most respected members of the House; her intelligent independence and sensitivity ought not be lost. Mary Kane (R) shows the same kind of smart, moderate independence. For the third seat, we have no clear favorite. Lawyers Kathleen M. Dumais (D), Brian J. Feldman (D) and Bill Askinazi (R) and physician John Young (D) offer varied specialized experience and sensible positions.

DISTRICT 16: The incumbents make an exceptionally talented team: State Sen. Brian E. Frosh (D) and Democratic Dels. William A. Bronrott, Marilyn R. Goldwater and Susan C. Lee.

DISTRICT 17: Democratic State Sen. Jennie M. Forehand is an easy choice. She does her homework and pushes vigorously for her constituents. In the House, incumbent Democrat Kumar P. Barve is a nimble and knowledgeable leader; and Del. Michael R. Gordon (D) and former delegate Luiz Simmons (D) round out a first-rate team.

DISTRICT 19: Sen. Leonard H. Teitelbaum (D) has 16 years of valuable experience.

DISTRICT 20: Sen. Ida G. Ruben (D) is a leader who knows the ropes and gets things done. For the House, Democratic incumbents Sheila Ellis Hixson and Peter Franchot and Democratic newcomer Gareth E. Murray make the strongest delegation.

DISTRICT 21: Democratic Dels. Barbara A. Frush, Pauline H. Menes and Brian R. Moe are strong on constituent services and deserve reelection.

DISTRICT 22: Democratic Dels. Tawanna P. Gaines and Anne Healey have pressed effectively for education funding, health care improvements and economic development. Newcomer Justin D. Ross (D) has community and political experience.

DISTRICT 23: Democratic Sen. Leo E. Green was not our choice for reelection in the primary. His experience, however, gives him an edge in this round.

DISTRICT 23A: Del. James W. Hubbard (D) deserves reelection, but Del. Mary A. Conroy has not been a strong contributor. Republican Day Gardner makes a good case for replacing Ms. Conroy.

DISTRICT 26: Democratic Del. Obie Patterson is the standout in this field. Newcomers Veronica Turner (D) and JoAnn Fisher (R) have good civic experience.

DISTRICT 27: Senate President Thomas V. Mike Miller Jr.'s Democratic power-wielding in Annapolis can be heavy-handed, but his stewardship of education and transportation legislation has been important.

DISTRICT 27A: Democratic Del. James E. Proctor Jr. is well versed on a broad range of issues.

DISTRICT 39: The state Senate race in this district is critical because it is between an incumbent rising star, Democrat Patrick J. Hogan, and perennial political troublemaker Robin Ficker. The danger is that new voters in this district may not know of Mr. Ficker's erratic and irresponsible behavior. Sen. Hogan has served his constituents exceptionally well. The House contest here includes another candidate to be avoided: anarchist Bill White. The best votes: for incumbent Democrats Charles Barkley, who has had a seat on the Appropriations Committee, Joan Frances Stern, whose constituent service record is her strong point, and Republican Robert J. Smith, a moderate on a range of issues.