Polls in both the District and Maryland are open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. Here is a summary of candidates endorsed by The Post. In general this list omits races that are uncontested. The editorials explaining the endorsements can be found at http://www.washingtonpost.com/opinions:


Mayor: Adrian M. Fenty

Delegate: Eleanor Holmes Norton

D.C. Council

Chairman: Vincent C. Gray

At large: Phil Mendelson

Ward 1: Jim Graham

Ward 3: Mary Cheh

Ward 5: Harry "Tommy" Thomas Jr.

Ward 6: Tommy Wells


U.S. Senate: Benjamin L. CardinU.S. House of Representatives

4th District: Donna Edwards5th District: Steny H. Hoyer

8th District: Chris Van Hollen

Comptroller: Peter Franchot(D); Mark M. Spradley(R)

Attorney general: Douglas F. Gansler

Montgomery County

County executive: Isiah "Ike" LeggettCounty Council

At large (four seats): Robert "Bo" Newsome, Michael L. Subin, Nancy Floreen, George L. Leventhal

District 2: Michael Knapp

District 3: Phil Andrews

District 4: Marilyn J. Praisner

District 5: Valerie Ervin

State's attorney: John McCarthyState Senate

District 19: Mike Lenett(D); Mike Ryman(R)

District 20: Jamie Raskin

House of Delegates

District 14 (three seats): Anne R. Kaiser, Karen S. Montgomery, Herman L. Taylor II

District 16 (three seats): William A. Bronrott, Susan C. Lee, Regina "Reggie" Oldak

District 17 (three seats): Kumar P. Barve, Luiz Simmons, Ryan Spiegel

District 18 (three seats): Jane Lawton, James Browning, Daniel E. Farrington

District 19 (three seats): Henry B. Heller, Roger Manno, Benjamin F. Kramer

District 20 (three seats): Sheila E. Hixson, Heather R. Mizeur, Tom Hucker

District 39 (three seats): Charles Barkley, Nancy J. King, Saqib Ali

Board of Education

At large: Shirley Brandman

District 5 (two will be nominated): Susie Werner Scofieldor Philip Kauffman

Prince George's County

County executive: Rushern L. Baker III

County Council

District 1: Thomas E. Dernoga

District 3: Eric C. Olson

District 4: G. Frederick Robinson

District 5: David Harrington

District 6: Samuel H. Dean

District 7: Camille Exum

District 8: Tony Knotts

District 9: James "Fred" Harley

Register of wills: Lynn L. Skerpon

State Senate

District 21: Jim RosapepeDistrict 23: Bobby G. Henry Jr.District 26: C. Anthony MuseDistrict 47: Gwendolyn Britt

House of Delegates

District 21 (three seats): Joseline Peña-Melnyk, Barbara A. Frush, Brian R. MoeDistrict 22 (three seats): Tawanna P. Gaines, Justin D. Ross, Karren Pope-OnwukweDistrict 23 (two seats): James W. Hubbard, Gerron LeviDistrict 24 (three seats): Joanne C. Benson, Carolyn J.B. Howard, Michael L. Vaughn

District 25 (three seats): Dereck E. Davis, Melony Ghee Griffith, James L. WallsDistrict 26 (three seats): Earl Adams, Ollie Anderson, Darryl A. KelleyDistrict 27 (two seats): James E. Proctor Jr., Tamara Davis BrownDistrict 47 (three seats): Doyle Niemann, Victor Ramirez, Jolene IveyBoard of Education

At large (four seats): Donna Hathaway Beck, Jeana Jacobs, Nate Thomas, Ron Watson

District 1: Rosalind Johnson

District 2: Heather Iliff

District 3: Judy Mickens-Murray

District 4: Zeno W. St. Cyr IIDistrict 5: Owen Johnson Jr.