The last person before John W. Hinckley Jr. to be charged with attempting to assassinate a president was Sara Jane Moore, who tried to shoot President Gerald Ford in 1975. She pleaded guilty and is serving a life sentence.

The same year, Lynette (Squeaky) Fromme was convicted by a jury, after 19 1/2 hours of deliberation, of pointing a gun at Ford. She, too, is serving a life sentence.

The jury at the trial of Arthur Bremer deliberated for 95 minutes before rejecting Bremer's insanity defense and convicting him of shooting former Alabama governor George C. Wallace.

Sirhan Sirhan was found guilty of first degree murder in 1969 for slaying Sen. Robert F. Kennedy the year before. Sirhan's death sentence was commuted to life imprisonment and he is still in prison.

In 1963, President John F. Kennedy's assassin, Lee Harvey Oswald, was shot to death by Jack Ruby two days after Kennedy was slain. Ruby later died of cancer in prison.

In 1912, former President Theodore Roosevelt was shot in the chest by John Nepomuk Schrank, a saloon keeper. Schrank was declared insane and remained in Wisconsin mental hospitals until his death in 1943.

President William McKinley was mortally wounded in 1901 by anarchist Leon Czolgosz. Czolgosz was convicted and electrocuted.

President James A. Garfield was assassinated by office seeker Charles J. Guiteau in 1881. Guiteau was hanged in 1882.

President Abraham Lincoln's assassin, John Wilkes Booth, never went to trial. He either shot himself or was shot by others.

President Andrew Jackson was shot at by a house painter in the unguarded White House. The shot missed.