The Washington Post announced yesterday that starting this fall it will give annual awards of $2,000 each to 13 outstanding public school teachers throughout the Washington area and also give $25,000 annually to local school systems to finance special projects.

The awards, the newspaper said, are part of the 50th anniversary commemoration of the late Eugene Meyer's June 1, 1933, purchase of the newspaper.

In announcing the awards, Post Publisher Donald E. Graham noted that both his grandparents, Eugene and Agnes Meyer, "were keenly interested in local public education." He said the awards, to be known as the Agnes Meyer Outstanding Teacher Awards, would be given to career teachers selected by school systems in the District of Columbia, Montgomery, Prince George's, Charles, Fairfax, Arlington, Loudoun and Prince William counties, and in Alexandria, Falls Church, Fairfax City, Manassas and Manassas Park.

The $25,000 grant will be split among the local school systems based on their relative size. The stipends will be given, at the school systems' discretion, to classroom instructors "to support innovative teacher projects for which extra supplies, materials or trips are needed," Graham said.

In addition to the education grants, Graham announced that the newspaper will also honor each year one or more longtime Post employes "for a career exemplifying the values on which Eugene Meyer built The Washington Post." The employes will receive the Eugene Meyer Award and $5,000.

Graham said the first employes selected are diplomatic affairs reporter Murrey Marder, advertising sales representative Neal Shelby, chief electrician Paul (Pat) Taylor and circulation director Frank Manzon.