The major revision of the nation's immigration laws that has become a controversial issue in this election year headed for a House-Senate conference yesterday after the House appointed 29 conferees from four committees.

The bill, named for its sponsors, Sen. Alan K. Simpson (R-Wyo.) and Rep. Romano L. Mazzoli (D-Ky.), would offer amnesty to millions of illegal aliens and impose sanctions on employers who hire illegal residents in the future, among other provisions.

The House and Senate have passed differing versions that must be worked out in the conference. Democratic presidential candidate Walter F. Mondale has come out against the bill, and Hispanic groups have been lobbying for its defeat.

Rep. Leon E. Panetta (D-Calif.), who was named as a conferee on some of the agriculture provisions and who voted for the bill when it passed the House, 216 to 211 , said, "My sense is that it sounds like a balanced group of conferees based on what the House did."

Panetta said the bill has become entwined in politics and "there is still a serious question whether anything reported out will be signed" by President Reagan.

Another conferee, Rep. Edward R. Roybal (D-Calif.), told reporters he would do everything in his power to defeat the bill, adding: "I don't want to say the conference is stacked, but when you look at the list you can come to no other conclusion."

The House conferees are:

From the Judiciary Committee, Chairman Peter W. Rodino Jr. (D-N.J.), Mazzoli, Sam B. Hall Jr. (D-Tex.), Mike Synar (D-Okla.), Barney Frank (D-Mass.), George W. Crockett Jr. (D-Mich.), Charles E. Schumer (D-N.Y.), Edward F. Feighan (D-Ohio), Lawrence J. Smith (D-Fla.), Howard L. Berman (D-Calif.), Hamilton Fish Jr. (R-N.Y.), Carlos J. Moorhead (R-Calif.), Henry J. Hyde (R-Ill.), Dan Lungren (R-Calif.), Bill McCollum (R-Fla.).

From the Agriculture Committee, E (Kika) de la Garza (D-Tex.), Panetta, Sid Morrison (R-Wash.), Ed Jones (D-Tenn.), Gene Chappie (R-Calif.).

From the Education and Labor Committee, Augustus F. Hawkins (D-Calif.), William D. Ford (D-Mich.), George Miller (D-Calif.), John N. Erlenborn (R-Ill.), Ron Packard (R-Calif.).

From the Energy and Commerce Committee, John D. Dingell (D-Mich.), Henry A. Waxman (D-Calif.), James T. Broyhill (R-N.C.). Roybal is also a conferee.