The pending retirement of three top D.C. police officials is expected to trigger the most extensive reshuffling in the department since Maurice T. Turner was named chief in 1981 and give Turner appointees their first majority among the five assistant chiefs.

Two assistant chiefs and one deputy chief, the next lower administrative level, are scheduled to retire by the end of February, but the number of new assignments caused by their leaving is expected to be several times that number and to affect virtually every segment of the force.

It is unclear if there will be fundamental changes in the way the department is administered, but the shifts will signal the emergence of a new generation of police officials -- many of whom were recruited during a rapid expansion in the late 1960s.

In addition, the department could gain its first high-level woman administrator.

Turner, after conferring with Mayor Marion Barry, is expected to name all three high-level appointees at once.

Retiring are:

* Assistant Chief Charles E. Rinaldi, 56. With the department since 1954, Rinaldi heads the Technical Services Bureau, which includes such areas as the police laboratory and communications. Rinaldi formerly headed the 3rd Police District and while there won the department's crime reduction award five times. He had been considered for the top post in 1981 but was edged out by Turner.

* Assistant Chief Theodore R. Carr, 48. Half of his 27-year career in the department has been spent in the 6th Police District, which he formerly headed. Carr now heads the Administrative Services Bureau, which includes personnel and data processing.

* Deputy Chief James K. Kelly, 52. Now commander of the 7th Police District, which covers Anacostia, Kelly formerly headed the internal affairs division and the sex offense branch. He joined the department in 1957.

Speculation on who will be named to the two assistant chief posts has centered on four deputy chiefs:

* Isaac Fulwood Jr., commander of the 1st District, who is considered a personal favorite of Mayor Barry.

* Carl V. Profater, 5th District commander.

* Alfonso Gibson, commander of the criminal investigation division.

* John Connors, commander of the special operations division.

The resulting vacancies among the deputy chiefs are expected to be filled by three of six inspectors:

* Max J. Krupo, head of the data processing division.

* Charles E. Samarra, head of planning and development.

* Joyce Leland, the department's equal employment opportunity officer.

* Wilfred K. Coligan, head of the morals division.

* Melvin C. High, currently in charge of the disciplinary review division.

* Addison L. Davis, director of police property.

Three captains promoted to fill the inspector vacanices will be selected from a promotions list compiled after the recent police examination.