The White House is expected to nominate a Department of Education official Monday to fill the open commissioner's seat on the Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC), according to administration sources.

The nominee, Anne Graham, 35, is said to support President Reagan's move toward deregulation. The four present commissioners are more or less split over continued regulation versus deregulation.

Graham, whose background is primarily in communications, has served as assistant secretary of education for legislation and public affairs since 1981 and was the assistant press secretary for the 1980 Reagan-Bush campaign. She then became the deputy special assistant to the president for communications.

Graham also had been assistant press secretary to former senator Harrison H. Schmitt (R-N.M.) for three years. She could not be reached for comment yesterday.

The CPSC vacancy was left when Chairman Nancy Harvey Steorts resigned in November.

For several months, the chairman of the Senate subcommittee that oversees the commission has been fighting Graham's nomination. Sen. Robert W. Kasten Jr. (R-Wis.) has said that White House officials promised him that Camille Haney, a Wisconsin businesswoman, would be nominated for the CPSC seat.

The White House had also considered Haney for the chairmanship, but Terrence M. Scanlon, already a commission member, was given a recess appointment. He has not been confirmed by the Senate.

Kasten could not be reached yesterday, but he said in April that he was "highly irritated" that the White House was attempting to "welsh on a commitment."

The new appointment would come at the same time that a congressional battle is brewing over a bill that would reduce the CPSC from five members to three. The proposal is part of the CPSC reauthorization bill introduced by Rep. Henry A. Waxman (D-Calif.), chairman of the House Energy and Commerce subcommittee on health and the environment.

By appointing Graham now, the administration would avoid the Waxman bill prohibition that, in effect, would not allow any appointment after Sept. 30 that would give the CPSC more than three members.