Washington Post political reporter and syndicated columnist David S. Broder and three other Post reporters were among those honored this week by the Washington chapter of Sigma Delta Chi, a society of professional journalists.

Broder was inducted into the SDX Hall of Fame with NBC's Roger Mudd, Time magazine's Hugh Sidey and Lucian C. Warren, Washington correspondent for the Frederick (Md.) News.

Post columnist Courtland Milloy and two other Post reporters, John Mintz and Sandra G. Boodman, were among 39 recipients of the society's Dateline Awards, established in 1984 to recognize and encourage excellence in local news reporting.This year's winners, who were honored at a banquet Wednesday night at the National Press Club, were selected from among 130 entries in 22 categories.

Milloy won in the commentary category for "Bring Back the Death Penalty," written after the gang slaying of Catherine Fuller. Mintz won in the general reporting category for a series about political extremist Lyndon H. LaRouche Jr. and his operations in Leesburg. Boodman won in the features category for "Leaving Springfield," a series on deinstitutionalization.

Another Post politicial columnist, Mark Shields, received a Dateline Award for his sports commentary on WMAL-Radio.

Other winners included: Amy Stromberg, Linda Sarrio, Elaine Rivera, Ruppert Welch, Isaiah Poole and Glenn Garvins, The Washington Times; Mike Folks, Val Ellicott, Ken Weiss, Michael Hedges and Chris Harvey, The Prince George's Journal; Milagros Ardin, WMAL-Radio; Andrew Field, Roberta Baskin, Kathleen Pearce, Kandy Collins, Anne Rydlewicz, Pete Hakel, John Lureau, Ed Turney, WJLA-TV; Lisa Keen, The Washington Blade; Steve Doocy, Craig Wunderlich, Ron Barry, Jim Forrest, Joe Neil and Bill Starks, WRC-TV; Marcie Ritz, Mike M. Ahlers and Linda White, The Montgomery Journal; Andrew Ockershausen, WMAL; and Camille Bohanan, WWRC.

WMAL Radio won a reporting award for "Washington: 2001."