Sharon Pratt Dixon, a lawyer and former utility company official, won an upset victory over council member John Ray in the Democratic primary. Former D.C. police chief Maurice T. Turner Jr. was unopposed on the GOP ballot. Delegate

Eleanor Holmes Norton won decisively over D.C. Council member Betty Ann Kane (At Large) in the Democratic primary. Lawyer and consultant Harry M. Singleton easily won the Republican race. Council at Large

D.C. school board member Linda Cropp won the Democratic primary for the at-large seat.

MARYLAND Montgomery County Executive

Veteran Montgomery County council member Neal Potter edged County Executive Sidney Kramer in a Democratic primary that was seen as a referendum on county growth. Prince George's County Executive

County Executive Parris N. Glendening overwhelmed underdog challenger Floyd E. Wilson Jr., a 16-year County Council member. Anne Arundel County Executive

Veteran County Council member Theodore J. Sophocleus captured the Democratic nomination. Former House of Delegates minority leader Robert R. Neall won easily on the Republican side. Howard County Executive

Retired school administrator Charles I. Ecker won a substantial victory yesterday in the Republican primary, while incumbent Elizabeth Bobo faced no Democratic opposition. 1st Congressional District

Rep. Roy P. Dyson survived a strong challenge in the Democratic race in the eastern part of the state. Wayne T. Gilchrest turned back seven other Republican hopefuls for the right to face Dyson Nov. 6. 5th Congressional District

Democratic Rep. Steny H. Hoyer resoundingly defeated challenger Abdul Alim Muhammad, the Nation of Islam national spokesman.