Local building activists Nathaniel H. Rogg, John M. Dickerman and Waverly Taylor were recently inducted into the "Housing Hall of Fame" in ceremonies sponsored by the National Association of Home Builders.

Presiding over the ceremonies, NAHB president Merrill Butler praised the late Nathaniel Rogg as a major proponent of the national housing goals -- a concept that led to the construction of millions of dwelling units for those in need. "Until his untimely death, Nat Rogg carried housing's message into the most influential circles of the nation," Butler said.

Dickerman, a resident of Potomac, was cited for his tireless work in the 1960s as an executive vice president for NAHB. He joined the fledgling trade association as legislative director in 1947, was elevated to chief of staff in 1952 and during his tenure forged landmark legislative, educational and research achievements for the housing industry.

Waverly Taylor pioneered trend-setting construction concepts and community development techniques throughout the Washington area. Taylor helped lay the foundation of NAHB.

Among others inducted into the hall of fame were Herbert Hoover, the nation's 31st president, who was noted for his attempts to improve the structure of the mortgage credit system and his push for establishment of the federal banking system, and the late Herbert U. Nelson, long-time executive director of the National Association of Real Estate Boards.

The Housing Hall of Fame, established in 1976 to honor the men and women who have made lasting contributions to the cause of providing all Americans with decent and affordable homes, is located in the National Housing Center at 15th and M streets NW, where commemorative plaques are on permanent display.