On the strength of two first-place finishes, Menchville of Newport News won the championship in the 10th annual CYO Invitational high school indoor track meet yesterday at the University of Maryland's Cole Field House.

Menchville and T.C. Williams of Alexandria each finished with 15 points but, according to CYO tie-breaking rules, the team with the most first place finishes is the winner.

Williams won only one event, the high jump, but picked up two second places and a fifth place for its points. H.D. Woodson won two events for 12 points to take third place.

Michael Ricks of Menchville topped the 600 field, which was minus Woodson's Bill Contee, one of the premier middle-distance runners on the East coast.

Contee didn't compete in the 600 trials last week because of an injury and therefore was ineligible to run yesterday. The talented junior did run a sparkling third leg to lead the Warriors to victory in the mile relay in the time of 3:27.7, which broke the meet record of 3:30.9 set by Spingarn in 1975.

Ricks' teammate, Carlos Cardwell, overtook Lake Braddock's Dan Huskerson and Georgetown Prep's John Donegan on the gun lap to win the 1,000-yard run. Cardwell's time of 2:16.4 was just four-tenths of a second off the meet mark.

Williams' high-jumping tandem of Roland Stanfield and Ted Robinson went one-two in the high jump. Both performers, along with Edison's Jack Reese, cleared 6-4 but Stanfield was awarded first place on the basis of fewer misses.

Williams gave a fine performance in the mile relay, the final event of the afternoon in an attempt to beat out Menchville for first-place honors. Menchville had run in a previous heat and posted 3:30.9, and Williams had to top that time to at least tie Menchville.

Titans Mark Rapert, David Marshall, Churck Bates and Jerri Lee ran on Woodson's heels throughout the seeded race and finished in the fine time of 3:28.7.

Woodson's Jerome Watts had his hands full in the 60-yard dash. The quick-stepping junior nosed out Ferguson's Attell Simpson, Woodbridge's Fenton Fulgham and Paint Branch's Mark Shaw in a photo finish. All four runners crossed the line in 6.4.

Blair sophomore George Saah, with a toss of 53-3 1/4, upset a veteran field in the shot put. Churchill's 6-foot-7, 240-pound senior, Brian Holloway, was second with a 53-1 1/2.

Another sophomore made her presence felt. Gar-Fields Benita Fitzgerald, a 5-10 1/2 sprinter, destroyed the field in the 60-yard dash. The race was never close as Fitzgerald, time in 7.2, hit the wire fourha steps ahead.

The boys' mile field lost a bit of its glamour earlier in the week when No. 1-seeded Russ Bowles of St. Christopher's was injured slightly in a car accident and couldn't compete. Bowles' qualifying time of 4.26.1 was the fastest in the history of the meet. However, it was doubtful that Bowles' presence would have effected the outcome yesterday as O'Connell's Steve Ferri won going away in 4.18.5.

Judd Springer of Lee and Peter Hammond of Gar-Field ran step for step the final 100 yards of the two-mile before Springer leaned to win at the tape. A cofavorite in the race, Randy Dew of St. Christopher's, also did not take part.

Coolidge's Kelly sisters, Lalani and Jackie, were not challenged as they finished one-two in the girls' mile. Lalani Kelly, a senior, lapped three runners in the seven-runner field in covering the distance in 5:01.5. Her sister, a sophomore, sprinted away from Woodbridge's Val Hardin to gain second place.

The Walter Johnson girls quartet of Diane Martin, Terry Kane, Martha England and Joan Giebel held off Fort Hunt's highly regarded sprinter, Linda Portasik on the final lap as both teams broke the meet record of 4:15.2 set last year by T. Roosevelt.