Stu Shane of Havre de Grace, Md., has taken top honors in the 145-cubic-inch hydroplane class in the American Power Boat Association's Region IV competition for 1976. Shane amassed 9,025 points, the greatest number by any winner in the 11-class inboard category.

Walter R. Blair III of Leonardtown, Md., took the top prize in the GP Class, carning 10,439 points, most in the 12-class outboard-performance category.

High-point winner in the six-class PRO (Alky) category was Hency C. Shakeshaft III of Bedford, Va., who also took first in the 500-cc class.

Douglas Temple III of Scotland Neck, N.C., whose victories span more than a decade, was first in the BSR class as well as high-point man in the 12-class stock-outboard category.

Winners for 1976 were announced today at Region IV's annual awards ceremony. Some 45 competitve regattas are held each year within the region, which includes the District of Columbia, Maryland, Virginia, West Virginia and most of North Carolina.

The American Power Boat Association is the sanctioning body for all U.S. power boat racing and conducts the official time trials for power boat records.

Regional winners by category and class: