Tom Davey of Tenafly, N.J., won the featured 50-mile Ev Gardner trophy race for formula Ford racers at the Don Beyer national championship sports car road races over Summit Point Speedway today.

Two Washington-area drivers, Nick Kozlov, of Fairlax, Va. and Dan Torpy from Rockville, Md., finished second and third within two lengths of the winner. Davey's speed was 81.1 miles per hour. The cars are open-wheeled, single-seat racers using English Ford engines.

Davey, Torpy and Greg Bincarowsky, Mt. Wolf, Pa., traded the lead for 20 of the 25 laps. Bincarowsky lost his chance, spinning for the second time after 38 miles. Davey went into the lead, followed by Torpy who was then passed by Kozlov on the last lap.

Lou Damico, Babylon, N.Y., driving a Corvette, took the race for the larger cars by six seconds over Bruce MacInnes, Wilton, Conn., in a Datsun. The winner's speed was 86.6 miles per hour. Third was the favored Bob Frostrom, Pocomoke City, Md., in a Porsche.

Frostom stopped early in the race for a minor mechanical repair. He climbed from 18th place to third at the finish.

MacInnes earlier had won the sedan race by three seconds over Tom Howen, Ivy, Va., at 81.9 miles per hour. Both drove Datsuns. In third was John Stevens, Hunt Station, N.Y., in a Toyota.

Most impressive victory was John Timken's over a field of production and modified cars. Driving a Bobsy, the Lyme, Conn., driver won by a full lap of the two-mile track at 86.5 miles per hour. Teammate Tom Robertson in a Lotus Super 7 was second and the Rev. Tom Luce, Falls Church, Va., was third, driving another Bobsy.

Other winners included Col. Joe Hauser of Odenton, Md., defending national champion in the G production class, driving a Datsun. He defeated his son Joe Hauser, II driving a Sprite. Dr. Chris Kennedy, Bethesda, Md. defeated a 30-car showroom stock car field in his Alfa.