Sandsablaze won the President's Cup on Sunday night before closing Washington International Horse Show crowd of about 3,000, the third victory at Capital Center for the 3-year-old by gelding ridden by William (Buddy) Brown.

"Sandsablaze has been strong all week," said Brown, a member of the winning U.S. equestrian Team, "he did almost everything right."

Sandsablaze won on Tuesday and Thursday afternoons, Sunday night, and had two clean rounds in Friday night's Nations Cup and team victory.

Second to Brown and Sandsablaze in the President's Cup was Mike Matz on Jet Run and third was Dennis Murphy on Do Right. Willibert Mehlkopf, who had two straight victories going into the Cup was fourth on Fantast for West Germany. Fifth was Bernie Traurig on The Cardinal.

That fifth place by The Cardinal made Idle Dice the winner of the Grand Prix Horse of the Year award. The Cardinal needed a victory to finish ahead of Idle Dice in this new award based on points in 13 jumping classics during the year.

The USET scored 110 points in winning the team title of the 1977 show. Greg Britian was second with 53. Chads third with 47 and West Germany fourth with 41.

Mintz of the U.S. turned in the most insistent performance among the international riders, earning the top rider award. The Second English Speaking Union Challenge Trophy for the leading national rider was won by Dennis Murphy.