One hundred boys teams and 28 girls squads will compete this week in Christmas basketball tournaments throughout the Washington area and in Richmond, Newport News, Hampton, Va., and Pennsylvania.

At O'Connell, teams from New York, Pennsylvania, and Baltimore will vie against Springarn, Mackin and the host Knights in the 17th annual O'Connell Christmas Tournament.

First-round action of the three-day event starts Tuesday, with Archbishop Malloy, the defending tournament champion, against Spingarn at 4 p.m.

Following the Malloy-Spingarn contest, Mckin takes on Monsignor Bonner of Drexel Hill, Pa., and Cardinal Gibbons of Baltimore meets Archbishop Ryah of Philadelphia. St. Peter's of Staten Island, N.Y., faces O'Connel to complete the round.

Eight local teams are entered in the Mount Vernon Christmas Tournament. It starts Tuesday concluding with the title game Friday at 9 p.m.

Wakefield challenges Chantilly at 7, followed by Good Counsel-Mount Vernon in the first-round action Tuesday night. Wednesday finds St. Abans playing Gonzaga at 7 p.m., and Hayfield meeting Woodbridge at 9.

Defending Maryland Class AA champion Blair hosts Springbook, Suitland and Loyola of Baltimore in the Blair Christmas Tournament, starting Wednesday. Springbrook and Loyola meet at 7 p.m., followed by the Blazers against Suitlland. The championship game will be Thursday evening at 9.

Three of Washington's top teams will be on the road. Dunbar and St. John's begin play Monday in the Norfolk (Va.) Catholic Tournament. Dunbar faces George Wythe of Richmond at 5:30, while the Cadets take on First Colonial of Virginia Beach at 9 p.m.

De Matha clashes with Nassau (N.Y.) Thursday at 7 p.m. in the first game of the Johnstown (Pa.) Christmas Tournament. The title contest will be played Friday evening at 9.

Holy Cross, Seton, Eastern and Holy Names will be seeking semifinal berths when play resumes Wednesday in the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials' Girls Invitational Christmas Tournament at Largo.

Senton and Eastern meet at 7:30 p.m., followed by Holy Cross and Holy Names at 9. In consolation games, La Plata plays Sherwood at 4:30 and Glenelg and SUrrattsville at 6.