Lou Brock, Sen. Strom Thurmond, Dave Cowens, Earl Campbell, Maurice Cullinane, Joe Gattuso, Red Miller and Craig Morton, Mike Bragg and Mark Moseley, Jack Pardee and Walter Payton, Leo Durocher.

The Touchdown Club awards dinner, originated by the late Dutch Bergman as a $1.50-a-plate attraction at the Social Oyster House, comes off for the 43rd time tonight. The abovenamed are only a sampling of the roster of invitees to be introduced for awards and acclaim by a $50-per-setting assemblage of big names in sports, government and fandom at the Sheraton Park Hotel.

The man from CBS Control, Brent Musburger, will be the toastmaster.

The Notre Dame football team will be honored as No. 1 in the land; the leader of the Irish, Dan Devine, as college coach of the year, and his All-America tight end, Ken MacAfee, as college lineman of the year.

Brock, the base-stealing king receiving the Clark Griffith Memorial Baseball Award; Durocher, Cowens and Local Boy Makes Good Award winner Fred NcNaiz IV - just named to the U.S. Davis Cup tennis team - offer breaks from the mostly football-oriented program. So does Bill Muncey, the champion hydroplane racer.

But "touchdown" is still a football term and others in for recognition interback Doug Williams and local high clude Grambling's All America quar-school heroes Steve Mitchell, Dunbar; Tyrone Barber, St. John's; Joe Beazley, Woodbridge; Austin Beckham and Mike Rouser of Seneca Valley; the NCAA Division II and III teams of the year and their coaches, Lehigh (John Whitehead) and Widener (Bill Manlove) . . .

Have we missed any? Probably, but all are expected - travel schedules permitting - to gather for a reception at 6 p.m., dinner at 7:30.