Villanova took four of the top 10 places and easily outdistanced Fairleigh Dickinson to win the championship Division of the 70th IC4A Cross Country Championships yesterday at Van Cortlandt Park.

The Wildcats finished with 36 points, followed by Fairleigh Dickinson with 136 and defending champion Massachusetts with 137.

Among the Washington-area teams, Maryland was sixth with 177 points and Georgetown, second a year ago, eight with 188. George Mason, in its first year of IC4A competition, captured the top two spots to take second place in the college division. Catholic followed in sixth position.

Luis Ostolozaga of Manhattan set an extremely fast pace for the first mile. But Villanova's sophomore tandem of Sydney Maree and Amos Kip Korir grabbed the lead at the 2 1/2-mile mark and coasted home. Marcee won in 24:04.0, followed by Korir, 24:13.1. The Wildcats' other scorers were John Burns (eighth, 24:51.2) Rob Earl (10th, 24:55.8) and Kevin Dillon (18th, 25:11.8).

"This is the best cross country team that Villanova has had in many years," said Maree of the Wildcats, who won the championship for the eight time since 1961.

Dave Cornwall of Maryland was third in 24:26.5 and the Terps' John Green grabbed in 14th place, 25:04.9, but the team did not have another runner in the top 40, accounting for its six-place finish. Maryland's other scorers were James Hage (44th, 25:42.1) Martin Green (50th, 25:53.0) and John Cornwall (73rd, 26:16.3).

Dave Dobrzynski earned All-IC4A honors for the fourth time with a 14th-place finish (25:01.7) to pace Georgetown, which finished out of the top four for the first time in five years. Dobrzynski was followed by Phil Reilly (35th, 25:36.1), Kevin Byrne (39th, 25:37.2), John Gregorek (46th, 25:44.9) and Tom Grimes (64th, 26:08.5).

George Mason freshman Chuck Wimberly, out of Edison High School, captured individual honors in the college division, covering the five-mile distance in 25:06.7. Senior teammate Dee Caret of Woodbridge, Va., stayed with Wimberly most of the way and took second in 25:16.1. The other Patriot scorers were Mike Stafford (11th, 25:44.5), Ken Shipp (24th, 26:31.9) and Paul Burleson (49th, 27:08.0) as George Mason finished with 87 points, trailing defending champion Brandeis with 52.

Catholic's top performer was Rich Brody in 12th place with a time of 25:55.1. The Cardinals' other scorers were John Papp (21st, 26:26.7), Ken Frawley (28th, 26:35.1), Tom Hanrahan (56th, 27:19.7) and Robert Gramham (95th, 28:20.5).