Comedian Bob Hope will receive the first Hubert H. Humphrey Memorial Award at the 44th annual Touchdown Club Awards Dinner tonight at the Sheraton Park Hotel.

Hope, who will be making his second appearance in four years at the event, was selected as the man who most closely approaches the living standards set by the late U.S. senator and vice president.

More than 2,000 persons are expected to attend the black-tie event that will honor some 20 professional, collegiate and high school athletes and coaches. The dinner is set for 7:30.

Three awards will be presented to Pern State for its outstanding football season. Coach Joe Paterno, quarterback Chuck Fusina and the Nittany Lion team will be recognized.

Among professional footballers to be honored will be Seattle Coach Jack Patera, Seahawk quarterback Jim Zorn, Ram quarterback Pat Haden and Redskin linebacker Brad Dusek.

Over collegiate football honors will go the Western Maryland Coach James Hindman, Oklahoma lineman Greg Roberts and Maryland's Steve Atkins.

De Matha basketball Coach Morgan Wootten will receive the "Local Boy Makes Good" award and Bullet Coach Dick Motta will also be a trophy recipient.

Sparky Anderson, recently fired as manager of the Cincinnati Reds, will receive the Clark Griffith Memorial Baseball Award.

There will be memorial tributes to Humphrey and to Tuffy Leemans, a George Washington University graduate who was a member of Pro Football's Hall of Fame and past president of the Touchdown Club, who died Jan. 19.