Florida overwhelmed Arizona State in the 1,650-yard freestyle, then survived a late Sun Devil scoring flurry to win its first Association for Intercollegiate Athletics for Women swimming championship tonight.

The Gators picked up 45 1/2 points on Arizona State in the mile and the defending champ Sun Devils could not make up the difference as Florida won, 513-508. Standord finished third with 495 points in the closest championship meet in ALAW's 10-year history.

Three more American marks and four ALAW records fell during the final events.

Florida swimmers finished third, fourth, ninth (Betsy Rapp of Alexandria, Va. (16:47.46) and 11th to build what proved to be an insurmountable lead over Standord and A-State in the 1,650. The winner was Stanford's Jo Clark in 16:26.0.

Florida Coach Randy Reese said, "We had a meeting tonight and laid out on the table things we had to do in certain events to win, and they responded."

University of Texas freshman Joan Pennington repeated her first night's performance, winning back-to-back events. Pennington won the 50-yard butterfly in 24:92, and 10 minutes later took the 100-yard individual medley in 56.24, both American records.

North Carolina State's Beth Harrell of Alexandria, Va., was second in the 50-yard butterfly behind Pennington, in 24.97.

Stanford's Linda Jezek set a third American standard and won her third event, taking the 60-yard backstroke in 26.01. Jezek led Stanford to seven titles. Arizona State won five and Florida two. But the Cardinals lacked overall depth.

Arizona State's Gail Amundrud led the Sun Devil comeback by returning her 100 freestyle title in ALAW record time of 50:03.

Melissa Belotte swam her final competitive collegiate race, finishing 15th in the 100-yard individual medley for the Sun Devils. The Springfield, Va., native and two-time Olympian earlier said she would retire after this meet.