Spingarn refused to wilt in the stifling heat of the Jelleff Boys and Girls Club last night and scored nine points in the final 66 seconds to hold off De Matha, 94-91, and win the Summer League basketball championship.

"Revenge kept us going," said Spingarn forward Clifton Cottom, who finished with 18 points. "Most of us played here last year when the beat us (85-83) for the title. We weren't going to let it happen again." But without a superhuman effort on the boards and scoring by Spingarn's senior forward John Jones, De Matha might have run away with the contest a second time.

Jones, who finished with 39 points and 27 rebounds, was unstoppable on his turnaround jump shot.

The shot either earned him the bakset or a trip to the foul line, where he sank 17 of 22 tries.

Jones ignited the Green Wave early in the fourth period after De Matha, led by Adrian Branch (25 points) and Eric Peek (17), had eased ahead in the run-shoot affair, 68-60.

Jones personally accounted for 13 of Spingarn's next 23 points, including a twisting, driving layup to tie the game at 81, and a pair of free throws to put his team ahead, 83-81 with 2:51 to play. De Matha never regained the lead.

De Matha, the Blair League Summer champion which was forced to rally from a 20-point deficit to beat McKinley in the Jelleff semifinals, took the lead early in the second period and held it until Jones began to work his magic.

The Jelleff All-League team is as follows: Tony Jones, Dunbar, MVP; Pete Holbert, W. T. Woodson; Tom Sluby, Gonzaga; John Chesley, Eastern; Carl Cosimano, St. Albans; Gene Dyson, Churchill; Bob Haskins, Fling Hill; Cecil Rucker, Mackin; BeBe McGainey, Potomac; Adrian Branch, De Matha; Jan Pannell, McKinley; and Steve Perry, Gar-Field.