Kim Linehan set the third world record of the National AAU swimming championships tonight in capturing the 1,500-meter free style.

Tracy Caulkins added an American record in the 200-meter breaststroke during the final session at the Swimming Hall of Fame Pool.

Linehan and Marybeth Linzmeier battled stroke for stroke in the 1,500 meters before Linehan pulled away over the last 150 meters to win in 16:04.53. Linzmeier finished in 16:08.06. Tracy Wickham of Australia held the world mark of 16:06.63.

Linehan, 16, covered the first 400 meters in 4:18.88 and was 8:34.94 at the 800-meter mark. On a slightly cooler night than previously in the meet and without the heat of television lights, Linehan was able to maintain record pace, closing out the race with 2:07.21 over the last 200 meters.

"I knew I could do it," Linehan said. "I had the work behind me. It was just a matter of getting my mind into it.

Caulkins won her third event of the meet in lowering her own breaststroke standard of 2:35.23 to 2:33.89.

Susan Rapp, 14, of Franconia, Va., was eighth in 2:38.96. Rapp was competing in her first national championship.

World champion Linda Jezek, 19, won her 15th consecutive backstroke title dating back to the long-course championships in 1975. She took the 200-meter backstroke in the meet record time of 2:14.29. Libby Kinkead, 14, was second in 2:16.81.

Rowdy Gaines led from the start and won the 100 meter freestyle with Auburn University teammate David McCagg finishing second. Gaines, 20, the 200 meter champion, won in 50.79 and world champion McCagg touched in 51.09.

Phil Perdue of Fairfax, Va., was 14th in 52.51. Erdue, 20, qualified in the same position this morning, in 51.97.

Jessie Vassallo won his second event, taking the 200-meter individual medley in 2:05.51. Vassallo, 18, earlier won the 400-meter backstroke.

The Starlit Aquatic Club relay of Sam Jones (52.34), Perdue (51.57), Sam Hewson (51.50) and Jim Alexander (53.18) was sixth in 3:28.59 in the 400-meter freestyle relay. Florida Aquatic Swin Team won the event in 3:24.08.

Mission Viejo of California won the women's team title 368-353, over Florida Aquatic Swim team. Starlit was 14th with 55 points and Columbia (Md.) Aquatic was 27th with 17.

Florida reversed the results in the men's events, totaling 474 to Mission Viejo's 345. Starlit was 14th with 45.