Four Redskins, including injured safety Ken Houston, who was selected for a record 12th straight time, have been chosen by league players and coaches to the NFC Pro Bowl team, it was announced yesterday. The game will be played in Honolulu Jan. 27.

Two of the others selected were picked for the first time -- placekicker Mark Moseley and cornerback Joe Lavender. Cornerback Lemar Parrish was chosen for the first time as an NFC player; he played for the AFC in six previous Pro Bowls.

But the most talk around Redskin Park yesterday was not about who made the team, but who didn't make it, especially quarterback Joe Theismann, named the teams most valuable player by fellow Redskins, but overlooked in the Pro Bowl voting in favor of Roger Staubach of Dallas and Archie Manning of New Orleans.

And it was not Theismann, but his teammates who did most of the talking.

Theismann currently ranks second in the NFC in passing behind Staubach and is playing for a playoff contender, as well as being the team MVP, and that was what his teammates cited yesterday.

"That's a bad move," said Moseley.

"It's a popularity contest," said Danny Buggs, the team's leading receiver, "I can't believe it."

At first, Theismann issued a very uncharacteristic "no comment."

As he walked away, he said: "I want to say some things, but I better not."

Finally, he said: "I'll let my record stand for my comments. That's about the best way to do it. I'll match my record and let them stand as my comment. People always say that performance should speak instead of the individual. I've always been accused of being the opposite of that. So I'll let my record speak for itself."

Theismann also said he thought fullback John Riggins should have made the squad. All four NFC running backs are halfbacks.

Houston is recovering from a broken wrist suffered Nov. 25 against the Stanford Lavine said Houston should be ready if the Redskins make the Super Bowl.

The biggest surprise on the 40-man AFC team, which includes 10 Pittsburgh players, was the exclusion of Steeler wide receiver Lynn Swann. In a rarity, both tight ends selected are from Oakland, Dave Casper and Raymond Chester.