Holy Cross picked up its 64th consecutive victory and fifth straight IAABO Tournament title, rolling over Paint Branch, 70-44, in last night's championship in girls basketball at Springbrook.

Ballou, sparked by the tournament's most valuable player, Paris McWhirter, and Maria Nicholson's 20 points, was a 54-49 winner over Holy Names for third place.

Laura Hall scored 16 points, including 14 in the first half, but couldn't help loser Paint Branch, which was out to avenge an earlier 19-point loss to Holy Cross.

The Tartans, led by Laurie Ginsburg (14 points), had four players in double figures. Holy Cross (8-0) rallied on strong defense and outside shooting in building its 34-26 half-time advantage and pulled away to a 52-30 quarter lead.

Holy Cross outscored Paint Branch, 18-4, in the third period reeling off the first eight points of the quarter. Jeanne Woytowitz's shot for the Panthers from the key cut the Holy Cross lead to 42-28, but Susan Pellicoro and Karen Elsner hit four straight buckets to put Holy Cross safely ahead, 50-28.

Paint Branch trailed early but rallied in the second quarter. Down 26-15, the Panthers got 11 straight points and tied the game, 26-26, on a Woytowitz shot. But Holy Cross then answered with the last four baskets of the half to take a 34-26 advantage, and the Tartans never trailed again.

At the Poolesville Tournament, Damascus overcame an 11-point halftime deficit to edge host Poolesville, 41-39. Nancy White's 13 points and Debbie Simon's 10 rebounds for Damascus offset Phyllis Talley's 18 points for Poolesville.

At the George Mason Tournament, Barbara Braddock routed Herndon, 61-34, for the title at George Mason University. Murphy was voted the tournament's most valuable player.

At the H. D. Woodson Festival, host Woodson downed Eleanor Roosevelt, 49-42, for the title behind Tonya Wigfall's 19 points.

At the St. Mary's Tournament, Leonardtown gained a 26-6 halftime lead to win the championship over Great Mills, 42-24. Gail Scriber and Belle Mattingly scored eight points each for the winner.