Earvin (Magic) Johnson of the Los Angeles Lakers yesterday became the first rookie since Elvin Hayes in 1969 to be voted a starter in the National Basketball Association All-Star Game. The contest will be held Feb. 3 at Capital Centre.

Fan balloting was completed Jan. 1, but the tabulation was completed late yesterday.

Joining Johnson on the West team will be Laker teammate Kareem Abdul-Jabbar at center. Marques Johnson of Millwaukee and Adrian Dantley of Utah at forwards and Lloyd Free of San Diego at the other guard spot.

The East starters will be John Drew at forward and Eddie Johnson at guard, both of Atlanta, Moses Malone of Houston at center and Julius Erving of Philadelphia at the other forward spot and George Gervin of San Antonio at the other guard.

The host Washington Bullets are not represented among the starters. Also shut out where the Boston Celtics and the defending NBA champion Seattle SpuerSonics.

The six other players on each team will be selected by the coaches of the respective conferences.

The Bullets with the best chances of making it are Hayes and center Wes Unseld.

The only Bullets close in the poll was guard Kevin Porter, who was fourth among the guards with 127.167 votes.

The leading vote getter was Gervin, the league's leading scorer, with 286,463 votes.

Two other rookies, Larry Bird of Boston and Bill Cartwright of New York, could also be named to the East team.

The coaches of the teams will be named after Sunday's games. The coach of the team with the best winning percentage in each conference will coach his conference team.

In the East, that will be either Bill Fitch of Boston or Billy Cunningham of Philadelphia. The West will be coached by either Lenny Wilkens of Seattle or Paul Westhead of Los Angeles.