The Iceman, Magic, Dr. J. All-World, the Banger and Sugar Ray, among others, will strut their stuff at Capital Centre next Sunday when the National Basketball Association presents its 1980 All-Star Game.

For those not so familiar with their NBA nicknames, the above stars are also known as George Gervin, Earvin Johnson, Julius Erving, Lloyd Free, Jack Sikma and Michael Ray Richardson. They'll be joined in the game by the best of the rest in the NBA, including Moses Malone, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar and Larry Bird.

The Washington Bullets will be represented by Elvin Hayes, an all-star each of his 12 seasons in the league.

Fewer than 500 seats remain for the 1 p.m. game which will be televised nationally on CBS (WDVM-TV-9).

The contest will be the center of attraction next weekend, but the NBA will also make its final decision on expansion for next season when the owners meet Saturday.

The expansion committee will recommend that Dallas be awarded a franchise, but it is expected to meet some resistance. A three-quarters majority of the 22 teams is needed for the expansion to be approved. That means six votes will kill it.

The All-Star Game will be preceded by a banquet at the Washington Hilton Saturday night. The banquet, a benefit for the Special Olympics, is open to the public and anyone interested in attending should contact the Bullets.

Columnist Art Buchwald will serve as master of ceremonies and entertainment at the banquet will be provided by Washington's Peaches and Herb and ventriloquist Willie Tyler and his dummy, Lester.

The starting lineups for the game were voted by the fans and the six reserves on each side were selected by the coaches in each conference.

The East starters will be John Drew and Eddie Johnson of Atlanta, Malone of Houston, Erving of Philadelphia and Gervin of San Antonio.

The East reserves are Hayes, Dave Cowens, Nate (Tiny) Archibald and Bird of Boston, Richardson of New York and Dan Roundfield of Atlanta.

The West starters will be Marques Johnson of Milwaukee, Adrain Dantley of Utah, Abdul-Jabbar and Magic Johnson of Los Angeles and Free of San Diego.

The West reserves are Dennis Johnson and Sikma of Seattle, Otis Birdsong of Kansas City, Walter Davis and Paul Westphal of Phoenix, plus probably a replacement for Kansas City's Scott Wedman now that he is out with a fractured cheekbone.

Lenny Wilkens of Seattle will coach the West and Billy Cunningham of Philadelphia the East. They were selected because their teams had the best records in their respective conferences as of Jan. 20.

Magic Johnson is the first rookie to be a starter since Hayes in 1969.

Bird is the only other rookie on either roster.

Chicago, Cleveland, Detroit, Denver, Golden State, Indiana, New Jersey and Portland are not represented this year.

The Bullets' John Lally and the Sonics' Frank Furtado will be the trainers.

As is usually the case in all-star games the emphasis is expected to be on offense. The league's top six scorers are among the 10 starters in the game.