Jim Kropfeld, driver of Miss Danash, was awarded the President's Cup Regatta yesterday on the Potomac River. Regatta winners were determined by Saturday's results.

Grand Prix International hydroplane Miss Danash averaged 91.37 miles per hour in winning its heat Saturday. Kropfeld was awarded the cup on the basis of a lower elapsed time than Long Gone, also a Saturday-heat winner, driven by Kent MacPhail.

With winds gusting to 30 miles per hour, President's Cup Chairman Tom Milstead delayed yesterday's program five hours before announcing the cancellation.

"I'm very upset, obviously," Milstead said. "I worked a whole year toward this and this has totally wiped me out. We'll just start from scratch next year."

Many of the estimated 8,000 spectators were upset at not having their $4 entrance fees refunded when leaving the Hains Point Viewing area. President's Cup General Chairman Tom Hurney said, however, that refunds will be provided to anyone who requests them in writing, along with ticket stubs, from the President's Cup Committee.

Winners in the regatta's other classes and their drivers: Indian Summer, Robert Ganatano, Jersey Skiffs class; Creme-De-Menthe, Dickie Webb, super stocks category; Every Penny, Chris Oliver, 2.5 liter engine class, and Hijacker, Stuart Shane, 145 cubic inch engine class.

Overall winners were determined by points totaled during Saturday's heats with the lowest elapsed time used as a tie breaker. A first-place finish was worth 400 points, second place 300, and third place 225.

Last year's President's Cup Regatta also was curtailed to one day of competiton because of weather conditions.