Georgia's top-ranked football team and Mike Schmidt, third baseman of the world champion Philadelphia Phillies, were honored last night at the Washington Touchdown Club's annual awards dinner at the Sheraton Washington Hotel.

On the whole, they'd rather have been in Atlanta, preparing to play Philadelphia in the National Football Conference championship game today, but Falcon Coach Leeman Bennett and quarterback Steve Bartkowski were on hand for honors at the annual black-tie banquet.

Sen. Howard Baker (R-Tenn.) received the "Mr. Sam Award," named in memory of the late Rep. Sam Rayburn, former Speaker of the House.

Entertainer Danny Kaye was presented the third annual Hubert H. Humphrey Memorial Award.

Among others honored were Herschel Walker, freshman running sensation for national collegiate football champion Georgia and Bulldog Coach Vince Dooley; Art Monk, Washington Redskin wide receiver; 12-time former all-pro safety Ken Houston and George Welsh, football coach at the Naval Academy.

Mark Cox of Annandale, Mike Strittmatter of Springbrook, Pete Muldoon of Carroll and Clarence Sims of Coolidge were presented Timmie awards for their outstanding football play in Virginia, Maryland, Metro Conference and Interhigh League, respectively.

Carol Lewis, Willingboro (N.J.) track star, and Bill Fralic of Penn Hills High near Pittsburgh, were honored as national high school athletes of the year.