United Press International made Maryland's Albert King a second-team all-American selection and The Associated Press picked Eric (Sleepy) Floyd of Georgetown for its second team in balloting announced today. Ralph Sampson of Virginia was a first-team pick of both wire services.

King, a 6-foot-6 senior, received honorable mention from AP. He was selected to the first team last season, when he scored 21.7 points and had 6.7 rebounds a game. This season, he averaged 17.7 points and 5.7 rebounds a game.

Floyd, a 6-3 junior, was given honorable mention by UPI. This season, he averaged 18.9 points. With 1,663 points in his career, he needs only 11 to become Georgetown's all-time leading scorer, passing Derrick Jackson, who played from 1974-78.

Sampson was the key to Virginia's success this year. The 7-4 sophomore averaged more than 18 points and 12 rebounds a game and was an intimidating element on defense.

The leading vote-getter on UPI's team was Mark Aguirre, who helped put De Paul in the spotlight of college basketball. Aguirre, on the first team for the second straight year, received 172 votes from the 204 ballots cast in a nationwide voting of sportswriters and broadcasters.

"I'm glad to see Mark get the honor, especially since his statistics weren't as great as last year," said De Paul Coach Ray Meyer. "Mark became a complete ballplayer this year."

Joining Aguirre on the UPI first team were Sampson, guards Isiah Thomas of Indiana and Danny Ainge of Brigham Young and forward Kelly Tripucka of Notre Dame.

Joining King on the UPI second team were Jeff Lamp, Virginia; Rod Foster, UCLA; Steve Johnson, Oregon State, and Durand Macklin, Louisiana State.

On the third team were Ray Blume, Oregon State; Clyde Bradshaw, De Paul; Sam Bowie, Kentucky; Danny Vranes, Utah, and Lewis Lloyd, Drake.

Joining Sampson and Aguirre on AP's first team were 6-8 junior Kevin Magee of California-Irvine; 6-5 Ainge of Brigham Young and 6-1 Thomas of Indiana.

Selected to the AP second team along with Floyd were 6-6 senior Al Wood of North Carolina; senior Vranes of Utah; senior Steve Johnson of Oregon State and Valentine of Kansas.