Washington Post staff writers Barry Lorge and Tony Kornheiser won first-place awards for sportswriting in the annual Associated Press Sports Editors national writing and editing competition, it was announced yesterday.

Staff writer Ken Denlinger received a fourth-place award in the column category.

Lorge received first place in the newswriting category for papers with more than 75,000 circulation for his coverage of the Olympic boycott of the Moscow Olympics. Kornheiser was honored in the feature category for a piece on University of Virginia center Ralph Sampson.

Denlinger was cited for his column on the deaths of former Kansas City Chiefs lineman Jim Tyrer and his wife.

The Boston Globe won honors for the best daily and best Sunday sports section. The St. Petersburg (Fla.) Times won first place for sports section design.

The winners were selected by a judging panel of Dan Jenkins, Sports Illustrated; Shirley Povich, retired sports editor of The Washington Post; John Walsh, Inside Sports; Jay Simon, Golf Digest; and Don MeMaio, United Media Syndicate.

FEATURE WRITING (over 75,000) -- 1. Tony Kornheiser, Washington Post; 2. Edlwin Pope, Miami Herald; 3. John Powers, Boston Globe; 4. Steve Goldstein, New York Daily News; 5. Bob Rubin, Miami Herald; other finalists -- Jim Dent, Dallas Times-Herald; Thomas Boswell, Washington Post; Bill Lyon, Philadelphia Inquirer; Randy Harvey, New York Daily News; Danny Robins, Philadelphia Inquirer.

FEATURE WRITING (under 75,000) -- 1. Bernard Fernandez, Jackson Daily News; 2. Dick Schneider, Fort Myers News Press; 3. Joan Bastell-Mike Gibson, Doyleston (Pa.) Daily Intelligencer; Ward Bushea, San Rafael (Calif.) Independent Journal; Mark LaRose, Easton (Pa.) Express; other finalists -- Richard Mudry, Tampa Times; Craig Barnes, Fort Lauderdale Sun-Sentinel; Steve Aschburner, Lexington (Ky.) Herald.

COLUMN WRITING (over 75,000) -- 1. Hubert Mizell, St. Petersburg Times; 2. Leigh Montville, Boston Globe; 3. Mike Lupica, New York Daily News; 4. Ken Denlinger, Washington Post; 5. Dave Anderson, New York times; other finalists -- John Schulian, Chicago Sun-Times; Tom Callahan, Washington Star; Jack Mann, Washington Star; Vinny DiTrainl, Bergen (N.J.) Record; Doug Grow, Minneapolis Star.

COLUMNM WRITING (under 75,000) -- 1. Steve Daley, Peninsula Times-Tribune. 2. Bill McGrotha, Tallahassee (Fla.) Democrat; 3. Brian Williams, San Rafael Independent Journal; 4. Dick Schneider, Fort Myers News-Press; 5. Lenny Megliola, Middlesex (Mass.) News; other finalists -- Paul Borden, Jackson (Miss.) Clarion-Ledger; Tom Patterson, Jackson Daily News; Dave Leonard, Monterey Peninsula Herald; Michele Himmelberg, Fort Myers News-Press; Mike Chamnes, Southern Illinoisan, Carbondale.

NEWS WRITING (over 75,000) -- 1. Barry Lorge, Washington Post; 2. Doug Grow, Minneapolis Star; 3. Hubert Mizell, St. Petersberg Times; 4. Jayson Stark, Philadelphia Inquirer; 5. Bob Verdi, Chicago Tribune; other finalists -- Edwin Pope, Miami Herald; Greg Logan, Bergen Record; Thomas Boswell, Washington Post; John Schullian, Chicago Sun-Times; Jack Mann, Washington Star.

NEWS WRITING (under 75,000) -- 1. Ed Rose, Beaver County (Pa.) Times; 2. Mike Ferrett, Bucks County (Pa.) Courier Times; 3. Bill Trimble-Jerry Tipton, Huntington (W.Va.) Herald-Dispatch; 4. Scott Wasser, Delaware State News, Dover; 5. Sam Cook, Duluth (Minn.) News Tribune; other finalists -- Larry Edsal, Jackson (Mich,) Citizen Patriot; Rich Suwanski, Owensboro (Ky.) Messenger-Inquirer; Mark Stodghill, Duluth (Minn.) News Tribune; Brian Carter, Worcester (Mass.) Telegram; Ray Holliman, St. Petersburg Times.

INVESTIGATIVE REPORTING (under 75,000) -- 1. Lenny Megliola, Middlesex (Mass.) News; 2. J. Stryker Meyer, Trenton Times; 3. Michele Himmelberg, Fort Meyers (Fla.) News-Press; 4. Jerry Potter, (Miss.) Clarion-Ledger; 5. Arizona Daily Star staff, Tucson.