Maryland's Vince Reilly overcame a five-second lead by Navy's Rick Smith in the last lap of the 5,000-meter run to win the decathlon event at the 105th annual IC4A outdoor track and field championship today.

Reilly's time of 4:21.05 was a personal best. Smith was second going into the last event but faded to finish in 4:23.7. Both Reilly and Smith made the NCAA qualifying standard of 7,449.

The first-day leader, Frank Harrison of the University of Pennsylvania, was hampered by a pulled back musle he suffered early in the two-day competition and ended in fifth place with 6,547 points.

Reilly and Smith had suffered injuries earlier in the spring and did not expect to be in top form for the javelin. However, each had personal bests -- Reilly 184 feet 10 inches and Smith 183 feet 2 inches.

Maryland, the defending champion, is the cofavorite with Villanova. The Terps' field strength comes from from indoor champions Chip McCarthy in the pole vault and Cornelius Cousins in the long jump. Terrapin Al Baginski led all discus throwers with a toss of 185-8. Jon Warner is the only IC4A pole vaulter to clear 17 feet this season.

Terp Chris Person will defend his 400-meter hurdles championship and Darren Walker will compete in the sprints.

Georgetown's John Gregorek, a 1980 Olympian, is a favorite in the 3,000-meter steeplechase. Hoyas Kevin Byrne, Phil Reilly and John Sullivan will run the 1,500 meters, and Rich Caton and Brian McNelis the 800 meters.