Virginia placed five runners among the top 19 finishers to win the team title in the women's division of the NCAA cross country championships today.

Virginia finished with 36 points, followed by Oregon, 83 points; Stanford, 105; Michigan State, 122; North Carolina State, 123, and Clemson, 152.

"This was special," said Martin Smith, Virginia's assistant coach, after the Cavaliers' victory in the first NCAA cross-country championship for women. "It hasn't sunk in on the young ladies yet. It will hit them sometime this afternoon."

Texas-El Paso, led by winner Mathews Motshwarateu, swept the top three places to dominate the men's division, and broke the record-low point total of 25 set by Drake in 1944. UTEP had 17 points, two worse than a perfect 1-2-3-4-5 finish, in winning for the fourth straight year.

John Gregorek of Georgetown finished 63rd among the men. Gregorek, who had been running well before a recent leg injury, was timed in 30:29.

In the women's division, Betty Jo Springs of North Carolina State won the individual title in a course record time of 16:19. Springs took the lead after 2 1/2 miles when she passed eventual runner-up Leann Warren of Oregon (16:25.3) and third-place finisher Aileen O'Connor of Virginia and High Point (Md.) High School (16:27.7).

Other Virginia women among the leaders were Lesley Welsh, fifth in 16:29.9; Lisa Welsh, eighth in 16:38.2; Jill Haworth, 12th in 16:48.6, and Marisa Schmitt, 19th in 17:03.5.