Churchill and Northwood try to bring two more Maryland state high school football championships to Montgomery County, and Howard County schools Mount Hebron and Oakland Mills will try to win the other state titles in doubleheaders today and Saturday at the University of Maryland's Byrd Stadium.

Mount Hebron (10-1) plays Snow Hill (8-3) for the Class C title at 11 a.m. today, followed by the Class B championship game between Oakland Mills (9-1) and J.M. Bennett of Wicomico (11-0).

Saturday, Northwood (11-0) plays Thomas Johnson of Frederick (11-0) for the Class A title at 11. Churchill (10-1) then meets Oxon Hill (9-2) for the AA championship.

Montgomery County schools, which won three of the four state titles in 1981, have been very successful in the playoffs, winning 10 titles out of a possible 16 in the last four seasons.

Churchill, Northwood and Oxon Hill didn't clinch playoff berths until the final week of the regular season.

Churchill, the AA state champion in 1977, was very impressive last week in a 50-6 rout of Meade as tailback Paul (Boo Boo) Palmer scored three of his season's 20 touchdowns.

Oxon Hill, making its first appearance in the final, will rely on senior running backs Sheldon Morris and Bruce Battle, who have accounted for nearly 2,000 yards rushing and 26 of their team's 32 touchdowns.

Northwood's offense struggled at times this year but its defense has been superb. Senior linebackers Terry Burke and Mike Tolson and junior safety Tori Vactor have made the big plays for the Indians, who have allowed only 42 points while posting six shutouts.