Rick Mears won the fastest-ever Indy-car race, the $164,000 Detroit News Grand Prix at Michigan International Speedway today.

Mears, driving a Penske PC10, took the lead in the 200-mile race on the 73rd lap and averaged 182.325 mph in easily beating pole-sitter Bobby Rahal.

That broke Mears' Indy-car speed record of 182.094 set at Atlanta International Raceway in a 150-mile event on Sept. 30, 1979. The fastest previous 200-mile Indy-car race was run by Gary Bettenhausen at Texas World Speedway on Oct. 6, 1973, when he averaged 181.910.

The victory was Mears' 14th in his career and his first in more than a year. Rahal was the only other driver in the same lap, and he was almost a mile back.

"I like records," Mears said, "but I like winning better."

Rusty Wallace outdistanced Dick Trickle over the last five laps to win a companion event, the Detroit News Grand Prix 150 stock car race at the Brooklyn track.

Wallace, driving a Chevrolet Camaro, beat Trickle's Camaro across the finish line by eight-tenths of a second. The two had made a five-lap dash following the last of six caution flags in the race. Wallace's average speed was 111.501.