Dinner had hardly concluded when Clemson University's all-America nose guard, William Perry -- all 300-plus pounds of him -- arrived at the 47th annual Pigskin Club Awards Dinner at the Washington Hilton last night.

Toastmaster Frank P. Bolden had told the audience that Perry would be late but would be easily recognized when he arrived. Even former NFL star Larry Little, now the coach at Bethune-Cookman College and no small man himself at 250-plus pounds, raised an eyebrow as Perry strolled through the crowd and took his seat at the head table.

Perry, nicknamed "The Refrigerator," was honored as the NCAA lineman of the year.

Other honorees included Washington Redskins quarterback Joe Theismann, Little as Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference coach of the year, Heisman trophy runner-up Keith Byars of Ohio State as offensive player of the year, LaVell Edwards of top-ranked Brigham Young as NCAA coach of the year and the high school all-metropolitan football team.

Redskins running back Joe Washington said because of the big game against the St. Louis Cardinals Sunday, he was going to accept Theismann's award and handle the acceptance speech.

"Joe has to call a lot of audibles Sunday so he has to save his voice," Washington said. "We won't let him talk too much tonight."

But Theismann still spoke to the packed house before exiting.

The highlight of the three-hour evening was the presentation of a special award by Carol Randolph of WDVM-TV-9's "Morning Break" program to Sacajuwea Hunter, 14, of the District, who participated in the 1984 Summer Olympics in the wheelchair competition.

Award winners:

High school coach of the year -- Glenn Furman, T.C. Williams

NCAA coach of the year -- LaVell Edwards, Brigham Young University

NCAA offensive player of the year -- Keith Byars, Ohio State

Outstanding leadership and achievement on the football field -- Jerry Rice, Mississippi Valley State

Pigskin Club Special Award -- Billy Joe, coach at Central State University

NCAA lineman of the year -- William Perry, Clemson

MEAC coach of the year -- Larry Little, Bethune-Cookman College

MEAC player of the year -- Gene Lake, Delaware State

CIAA coach of the year -- Willard Bailey, Norfolk State

CIAA player of the year -- JoJo White, Livingstone College

Lawrence Augustus Oxley Trophy -- Joe Theismann, Washington Redskins

Leonard Ford Trophy -- Sonny Smith, Fort Hunt High School

Pigskin Club achievement plaques -- All-Metropolitan high school football team-offensive and defensive team/punter, kicker and kick returner

Pigskin Club special citations -- David Clarke, chairman of D.C. City Council; Zachary Clayton, assistant to the managing director of the city of Philadelphia in charge of gang control; Sacajuwea Hunter.