The vote for player of the year in both the ACC and the Big East probably will be close. In the ACC, the split is between Len Bias of Maryland and Price. Bias clearly deserves the award. In fact, Lorenzo Charles of N.C. State and Johnny Dawkins of Duke are as deserving as Price.

In the Big East, the choice is between Patrick Ewing of Georgetown and Chris Mullin of St. John's. This choice is far tougher. The bottom line, though, is that Georgetown won two of three from St. John's. Mullin is fabulous; Ewing should get the award.

As for coach of the year in the leagues, Cremins should win in the ACC and, in a tougher decision, Gary Williams of Boston College in the Big East. Dom Perno of Connecticut deserves serious consideration, but Williams got 18 victories out of a team with minimal talent and played St. John's and Georgetown close in all four meetings with them.

Rookies of the year are easier: Charlie Smith of Pittsburgh wins in a romp in the Big East. Derrick Lewis of Maryland wins in a closer decision over Duane Ferrell of Georgia Tech in the ACC. Lewis was asked to do more for Maryland than Ferrell was asked to do for Tech. Grayson Marshall of St. John's High School in the District, who set an ACC freshman assist record for Clemson, is the third choice.