Patrick Ewing of Georgetown, one of the best defensive centers in college basketball history, led the United Press International all-America team named yesterday. He had been named first-team all-America by the Associated Press.

Ewing, who carried the Hoyas to the NCAA title in 1984 and a No. 1 ranking this season, was joined on the squad for the second straight year by Chris Mullin of St. John's and Wayman Tisdale of Oklahoma. Keith Lee of Memphis State and Johnny Dawkins of Duke and Washington, D.C., completed the team.

In the Atlantic Coast Conference, Georgia Tech forward Duane Ferrell was an overwhelming choice for rookie of the year, and Georgia Tech's Bobby Cremins edged North Carolina's Dean Smith, 43-35, for coach of the year.

Maryland forward Len Bias, named Monday as ACC player of the year by the ACC Sportswriters Association, was named to the all-ACC team, along with guard Mark Price of Georgia Tech, Dawkins, forward John Salley of Georgia Tech and center Brad Daugherty of North Carolina. Yesterday, Price edged Bias, 72-71, in the AP poll for ACC player of the year.

In the UPI all-America balloting of 159 sports writers and broadcasters, Ewing received 145 votes, Mullin 133, Tisdale 114, Lee 80 and Dawkins 35.

In the Associated Press' all-America team announced Monday, David Robinson, Navy's 6-foot-11 sophomore, made honorable mention.