Five of seven District of Columbia boxers -- including nationally ranked Lyndon Walker and Darryl Lattimore -- won their semifinal bouts last night to lead a field of eight teams at the inaugural D.C. Mayor's Cup Invitational at Howard University's Burr Gymnasium.

The finals will begin at 7 tonight.

Artiestides Gonzalez of the Fort Bragg, N.C., team fought for the first time since winning a bronze medal in the 1984 Olympics for Puerto Rico, and knocked out the District's Calvin Simon in the second round of their 165-pound bout.

The opening bell was still echoing when Walker (125 pounds) floored Navy's Richard Shambaugh, who barely had time to get his gloves up before Walker led with a hard right cross and followed with a left that leveled Shambaugh, whose coach then withdrew him from the fight.

Lattimore (147) and teammate Anthony Ross (139) each won when their opponents were disqualified for holding.

The District's Randy Squires (178) won a unanimous decision over New York City's Riddick Bowe. Squires' hard right cross forced a standing eight count. He began to work on Bowe's body in the third round and also slipped in several combinations to the head.

In the heavyweight division, Dave Johnson of Washington took a unanimous decision over Jeff Carter of Paterson, N.J.

At 119 pounds, the District's Frank Payne defeated Jeffrey Dubie of Fort Bragg by unanimous decision.