The guard is changing among major league baseball's All-Stars.

As the American and National league teams take the field at the Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome Tuesday night for the 56th All-Star Game, Rod Carew, Reggie Jackson and Mike Schmidt will make the date notable by their absences.

Instead, players such as Tommy Herr, Wade Boggs and Harold Baines fill the void in their first All-Star appearances.

"Nothing bothers me. I just take things as they come," said Carew, who failed to make the team for the first time in his 19 seasons and is the all-time leading vote-getter with 33,331,174 fan ballots. "It's only right to let some others having good years go for a change."

Carew barely was beaten out for the starting job by Baltimore's Eddie Murray, who polled 778,477 votes to 728,070 for Carew, and he was not among Manager Sparky Anderson's reserves.

Jackson came in fourth among AL outfielders, behind Dave Winfield and Rickey Henderson of the New York Yankees and Jim Rice of the Boston Red Sox, and likewise did not make the reserves. Jackson has been named to 14 All-Star teams, including the past eight.

"I'd love to have made it, but the fans picked some deserving fellows," Jackson said. "It would have been tough to keep a guy like Henderson off. There are several outfielders who deserve to go ahead of me."

Schmidt, a nine-time All-Star, has been the NL starter for the past six seasons, although he missed the 1980 game because of injury. Suffering through a first-half slump, Schmidt was defeated in the fan election by Graig Nettles of the San Diego Padres, 1,032,335 votes to 739,793. Nettles has been named to five All-Star teams but none since 1980 and none in the National League.

Herr, Boggs and Baines are among the first-timers who are in for something special. Herr, of the St. Louis Cardinals, took the starting second base job in the NL away from Ryne Sandberg of Chicago, winning the fan balloting by a shade more than 58,000 votes, while Boston's Boggs and Chicago's Baines were among the AL reserves.

The NL leads the series, which began in 1933, 35-19 with one draw, a 1-1 contest in 1961 that was called after nine innings because of rain.

The NL has lost only once in the past 13 All-Star Games, in 1983 at Chicago when the AL won, 13-3, with the help of the classic's first grand slam homer, by Fred Lynn. The Nationals won, 3-1, last year at San Francisco.

The game comes at a time that the prospects of completing the season are in doubt. The Major League Players Association and the owners appear far apart in negotiations and the players union is meeting Monday to set a strike date. Negotiations are set to resume Thursday.

The two defending league champions, Detroit in the AL and San Diego in the NL, led the way with six All-Stars apiece. Catcher Lance Parrish and second baseman Lou Whitaker were Tigers starters, and Anderson also chose three of his own pitchers -- Willie Hernandez, Jack Morris and Dan Petry -- and shortstop Alan Trammell. Parrish has a sore back; if he is unable to play, outfielder George Bell of the Toronto Blue Jays will be the replacement.

Besides starters Steve Garvey (first base) and Nettles, Padres Manager Dick Williams of the NL chose from his club pitchers LaMarr Hoyt and Rich Gossage, outfielder Tony Gwynn and shortstop Garry Templeton.

The St. Louis Cardinals had five players selected, including starters Herr and shortstop Ozzie Smith, while Toronto had four players picked, although none were voted in by the fans.

Pitcher Joaquin Andujar of the Cardinals, who said Friday night he would not attend because Williams had delayed designating him as the starter, was replaced on the roster by Ron Darling of the New York Mets. Outfielder Pedro Guerrero of the Los Angeles Dodgers, who hurt his back Wednesday and could be out two weeks, was replaced by outfielder Glenn Wilson of the Philadelphia Phillies. Commissioner Peter Ueberroth has announced the umpires and official scorers for Tuesday's game.

For the American League, Larry McCoy will be behind home plate, Nick Bremigan at second base and Drew Coble in left field. For the National League, John Kibler will be at first base, Charlie Williams at third and Randy Marsh in right field.

The official scorers will be Sheldon Ocker of the Akron Beacon Journal, president of the Baseball Writers Association; Bob Beebe, retired from the Minneapolis Star (now the Star-Tribune), and Red Foley of the New York Daily News.