Bill Marshall of George Washington University was named outstanding wrestler as he and four teammates won championship matches to lead the Colonials to the Capital Collegiate Conference Tournament title yesterday at the university's Smith Center.

Delaware State led George Washington, 54 1/4-53, going into the final round, but only one of the Hornets' five championship contenders won, and George Washington picked up five of a possible six victories. George Washington finished with 74 points to Delaware State's 59 1/4. American finished third (55 points), followed by Coppin State (34), Howard (33), George Mason (31) and Gallaudet (11).

Marshall (24-3), ranked 19th nationally at 126 pounds by Amateur Wrestling News, has won the championship in this tournament four times. He defeated Fred Vann of Delaware State, 13-4.

Marshall had two takedowns in the first period for a 4-1 lead. A takedown and near fall in the third period ensured the victory.

The Colonials also had victories from Eric Ritari, Joe Mannix, Chris Peterson and Jim Reffelt.

Ritari edged Howard's Melvin Toran, 4-2, at 118 pounds, and Mannix shut out George Mason's Troy Emerson, 3-0, at 150 pounds. Peterson scored a technical fall over Delaware State's Regan Moore in the 177-pound division, and Reffelt beat the Patriots' Tom Harris, 9-3, at 190 pounds.

The only Colonial to lose in the championships was Todd Evans, who lost, 7-2, to American's Jim Dunne at 177 pounds.

American also had championships from Tom Merashoff, who defeated Howard's George Foster at 134 pounds (4-1), and heavyweight Mark Snuffin, who beat Delaware State's Greg Styles (5-1).