For those skeptics who said the 45-second clock would significantly change the college game, the statistics are in and they prove otherwise.

Upsets remain prevalent, as shown by the results in this NCAA tournament, and statistics for 7,783 games this season are hardly different from last season when only the major division conferences used a shot clock.

Consider these figures, with the 1984-85 numbers first: total field goals attempted per game -- 113.9 versus 114.5; free throws attempted -- 42.5 versus 42.4; points per game -- 138.3 versus 138.5.

George Raveling, the new coach at Southern California, says he lost interest in the Houston job when university officials told him, "Family, religion, golf, football and spring football," are considered more important at the Southwest Conference school.

Job market update: Jim Brandenburg of Wyoming and Clem Haskins of Western Kentucky are among the leading candidates at Minnesota. . . . Colorado is leaning toward either Larry Farmer, formerly at UCLA and now at Weber State, or Bob Donewald of Illinois State. . . . Billy Hahn, a former player at Maryland, is among the finalists at Ohio University, where he is an assistant.

Eddie Sutton, who took over Kentucky this season and led the Wildcats to the Southeastern Conference title, was named college basketball's coach of the year by the Associated Press.

It was the second AP award for Sutton, who won in 1978 when he guided Arkansas into the Final Four, where the Razorbacks were beaten by Sutton's current employer. He is the sixth coach to win the award more than once -- UCLA's John Wooden won it five times -- but the first to win at different schools.

Dick Versace, who guided Bradley to the Missouri Valley Conference regular-season title, was second with 32 votes. Mike Krzyzewski of Atlantic Coast Conference champion Duke was next with 30.

St. John's junior Walter Berry today was named winner of the 15th Adolph F. Rupp Trophy as the Associated Press player of the year.

Berry, a 6-foot-8, 215-pounder, received 66 of 192 votes in a nationwide poll of sportswriters and sportscasters conducted before the NCAA tournament.

Kenny Walker of Kentucky was second with 50 votes, followed by Johnny Dawkins of Duke (18) and Len Bias of Maryland (12).